Leaderboard| Tee Times |Schedule|Statistics|Earnings |Tour:

Mickelson uses wrong ball, US penalized

(AP Photo/Woohae Cho)

INCHEON, South Korea (AP) The International team wound up winning two holes in one at the Presidents Cup on Friday when Phil Mickelson didn't know the rules.

Mickelson was not aware of the one-ball condition for his fourballs match, switching to a different model to give him a better chance of reaching the par-5 seventh green. The rules committee made a mistake of its own to compound the error in a bizarre sequence of events.

The result? Jason Day and Adam Scott went from all square to 2 up in just one hole.


Money Leaders: PGA
Rank Player Earnings
1 J.Spieth $12,030,465
2 J.Day $9,403,330
3 B.Watson $6,876,797
4 R.Fowler $5,773,430
5 D.Johnson $5,509,467
6 J.Rose $5,462,677
7 R.McIlroy $4,863,312
8 Z.Johnson $4,801,487
9 H.Stenson $4,755,070
10 J.Walker $4,521,350
View Full Leaderboard

w10 © 2015 by STATS LLC and Associated Press.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and Associated Press is strictly prohibited.