MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#50
John Danks
ERA W-L K
4.40 9-6 92
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-1 / 210 NFBC ADP: 503.87
Position: SPBorn: 4/15/1985 Birthplace: Austin, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Rangers (2003)


Latest News
July 14 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Danks excelled Sunday.
Analysis: Danks allowed one run in seven innings. His ERA is 4.58 after the All-Star break so beware of using the lefty.
July 9 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Danks won for the second time in three starts in Tuesday's 8-3 victory at Boston despite being decidedly mediocre as he gave up three runs and eight hits over 5 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Danks has been solid over his last nine starts, going 5-2 with a 2.85 ERA.
July 3 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Danks didn't receive a decision Wednesday despite limiting the Angels to two runs over 7 2-3 innings in a 3-2 victory.
Analysis: Danks is 4-2 over his last eight starts with a 2.65 ERA.
June 23 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Danks was hit hard in Sunday's 6-5 loss at Minnesota on Sunday, yielding six runs and 10 hits over five innings.
Analysis: It was a disappointing result for owners after Danks had been 3-1 with a 1.51 ERA in his last five starts.
May 25 6:44 PM PT7:44 PM MT8:44 PM CT9:44 PM ET21:44 ET1:44 GMT9:44 6:44 PM MST8:44 PM EST9:14 PM VEN5:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Danks allowed three hits over eight shutout innings in a 4-3, 10-inning loss to the Yankees on Saturday.
Analysis: Danks had been 1-4 with an 8.23 ERA over his previous five starts.
May 8 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Danks bounced back to earn his third victory of the season Wednesday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Danks surrendered three runs and four hits over six innings, much better than the eight runs and 10 hits he allowed over five innings in his previous start at Cleveland.
May 3 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Danks was beaten to a pulp by the Tribe on Friday.
Analysis: Danks allowed eight runs in five terrible innings. "There wasn't a whole lot to take from it," Danks said. He faces the rival Cubs next.
Apr. 27 12:18 PM PT1:18 PM MT2:18 PM CT3:18 PM ET15:18 ET19:18 GMT3:18 12:18 PM MST2:18 PM EST2:48 PM VEN23:18 UAE2:18 PM CT-Danks suffered Saturday's loss to the Rays.
Analysis: Danks said none of his pitches were working as he struggled with his command and a high pitch count. He allowed four runs and seven hits in 5 2-3 innings. He struck out four, walked four and threw a career-high 123 pitches. He will face the Tribe next.
Apr. 22 7:58 AM PT8:58 AM MT9:58 AM CT10:58 AM ET10:58 ET14:58 GMT22:58 7:58 AM MST9:58 AM EST10:28 AM VEN18:58 UAE9:58 AM CT-Danks pitched impressively into the seventh inning to lift the White Sox to a 3-1 victory over the Tigers on Monday night.
Analysis: Danks had lost five straight at Detroit but allowed one run in 6 1-3 innings and will face the Rays next.
Apr. 17 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Danks was effective Wednesday.
Analysis: Danks gave up a run in six innings ahead of next week's scheduled start in Detroit.
Apr. 11 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Danks turned in a solid outing Thursday.
Analysis: Danks got off to a rocky start, but settled down to allow three runs and six hits in six innings. "The third inning on, I felt like I was able to throw the ball where I wanted to," Danks said. He faces the world champion BoSox in his next start.
Feb. 16 12:50 PM PT1:50 PM MT2:50 PM CT3:50 PM ET15:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)2:50 PM CT-Danks insists his shoulder problems are a thing of the past and he's intent on regaining his old form on the mound as the Chicago White Sox try to climb back to respectability.
Analysis: The left-hander won 15 games in 2010, and he's trying to get back to that level after going 15-30 with a 4.69 ERA in the last three seasons. The White Sox are looking to re-establish themselves after dropping 99 games a year ago.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2007 CWS 6 13 0 - 0 26 26 0 139.0 160 92 85 28 54 4 109 1.54 5.50
2008 CWS 12 9 0 - 0 33 33 0 195.0 182 74 72 15 57 1 159 1.23 3.32
2009 CWS 13 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 200.1 184 89 84 28 73 1 149 1.28 3.77
2010 CWS 15 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 213.0 189 93 88 18 70 2 162 1.22 3.72
2011 CWS 8 12 0 - 0 27 27 2 170.1 182 89 82 19 46 5 135 1.34 4.33
2012 CWS 3 4 0 - 0 9 9 0 53.2 57 35 34 7 23 0 30 1.49 5.70
2013 CWS 4 14 0 - 0 22 22 0 138.1 151 81 73 28 27 0 89 1.29 4.75
2014 CWS 9 6 0 - 0 21 21 0 131.0 137 66 64 17 46 0 92 1.40 4.40
Career 70 80 0 - 0 202 202 4 1240.2 1242 619 582 160 396 13 925 1.32 4.22

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 CWS 26 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 CWS 33 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .167 .286 .167
2009 CWS 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 CWS 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 CWS 27 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 CWS 9 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 CWS 22 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 CWS 21 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
Career 202 24 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .083 .120 .083

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 CWS Total 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 7 3 3 1 3 0 7 4.05
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 7 3 3 1 3 0 7 4.05
Career 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 7 3 3 1 3 0 7 4.05


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 979 92 83 88.2 44.7
Curveball 153 77 67 72.6 6.99
Changeup 642 83 75 79.5 29.32
Cut Fastball 416 88 78 83.8 19

w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.