MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Joey Votto
AVG HR RBI
.289 7 21
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 221 NFBC ADP: 75.88
Position: 1BBorn: 9/10/1983 Birthplace: Toronto, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 2nd Round by Reds (2002)


Latest News
May 10 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Votto had three hits in his return from suspension on Saturday.
Analysis: Votto, hitting .315 on the season, had been 0 for 6 in his previous two games before getting sat down for bumping an ump.
May 8 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)6:44 PM CT-Votto has been suspended for one game and fined by Major League Baseball for making contact with an umpire during Wednesday night's 3-0 victory at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The slugger will serve his suspension Friday night against the Chicago White Sox, if the teams play. Rain was forecast.
May 6 5:24 PM PT6:24 PM MT7:24 PM CT8:24 PM ET20:24 ET0:24 GMT8:24 5:24 PM MST7:24 PM EST7:54 PM VEN4:24 UAE (+1)7:24 PM CT-Votto was ejected and then made contact with home plate umpire Chris Conroy during the third inning of Wednesday night's game against the Pittsburgh Pirates. After Votto struck out swinging against Gerrit Cole to end the inning, he flung his bat and helmet to the ground. Votto then said something to Conroy as he walked to his position and was ejected. Votto charged toward Conroy and the two bumped chests before Reds manager Bryan Price could intervene.
Analysis: Making contact with an umpire often results in discipline from Major League Baseball such as a suspension and fine. Votto was replaced at first base by backup catcher Brayan Pena.
May 2 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Votto is having a big series against the Atlanta Braves, going 4 for 8 with two doubles in the first two games.
Analysis: Votto is 6 for 13 with a homer and two doubles in his last four games after going hitless in 15 at-bats over his previous four.
Apr. 21 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Votto went 2 for 4 with a two-run home run in Monday's 6-1 win at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Votto has gotten off to a strong start, batting .375 with five homers and 12 RBIs through 13 games.
Apr. 11 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Votto continued his hot start Friday by going deep twice against St. Louis.
Analysis: Votto is hitting .412 through his first four games with eight RBIs.
Apr. 10 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Votto hit his first home run of the season Thursday versus Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Votto is off to a good start through three games, going 5 for 14 after batting a career-worst .255 in 62 games in 2014.
Apr. 9 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Votto added to his resurgent series with his first homer since May 10 and sent the Cincinnati Reds to a 3-2 victory Thursday, completing a season-opening sweep of the Pittsburgh Pirates.
Analysis: Votto hit a tying two-run homer in the sixth inning. The NL's Most Valuable Player of 2010 didn't play after July 5 last season because of strained muscles above his left knee. He was 5 for 14 with four RBIs in the series.
Feb. 22 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Votto is one of the Reds' main concerns heading into the first full-squad workout Tuesday. The first baseman played in only 62 games last season - none after July 5 - because of strained muscles above his left knee.
Analysis: The first baseman had hoped to return before the end of the season, but the injury was slow to heal.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Cin 24 84 11 27 7 0 4 17 5 15 1 0 .321 .360 .548
2008 Cin 151 526 69 156 32 3 24 84 59 102 7 5 .297 .368 .506
2009 Cin 131 469 82 151 38 1 25 84 70 106 4 1 .322 .414 .567
2010 Cin 150 547 106 177 36 2 37 113 91 125 16 5 .324 .424 .600
2011 Cin 161 599 101 185 40 3 29 103 110 129 8 6 .309 .416 .531
2012 Cin 111 374 59 126 44 0 14 56 94 85 5 3 .337 .474 .567
2013 Cin 162 581 101 177 30 3 24 73 135 138 6 3 .305 .435 .491
2014 Cin 62 220 32 56 16 0 6 23 47 49 1 1 .255 .390 .409
2015 Cin 41 152 18 44 6 1 7 21 24 37 5 1 .289 .386 .480
Career 993 3552 579 1099 249 13 170 574 635 786 53 25 .309 .416 .530

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Cin Total 3 10 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .100 .091 .100
    LDS 3 10 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .100 .091 .100
2012 Cin Total 5 18 3 7 0 0 0 0 4 5 0 0 .389 .500 .389
    LDS 5 18 3 7 0 0 0 0 4 5 0 0 .389 .500 .389
2013 Cin Total 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 9 32 3 8 0 0 0 1 4 9 0 0 .250 .324 .250


w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.