MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#32
Jay Bruce
AVG HR RBI
.215 10 42
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-3 / 217 NFBC ADP: 31.57
Position: RFBorn: 4/3/1987 Birthplace: Beaumont, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Reds (2005)


Latest News
July 29 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Bruce went on the bereavement list Tuesday before the second game of a series against the Arizona Diamondbacks.
Analysis: Bruce is eligible to rejoin the team Friday in Miami.
July 8 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Bruce was 2 for 4 Monday with his ninth homer of the year.
Analysis: Bruce has homered in back-to-back games after going 0 for 21 in his previous six contests.
July 7 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Bruce ended his slump Sunday.
Analysis: Bruce emerged from his 0-for-26 skid with a tiebreaking homer in the eighth inning, proving the veteran could fight through adversity. "I knew I wasn't going to go 0-for-my-career," Bruce said. "I'd been making hard contact. I really didn't feel like I was 0-for-so-much."
June 28 5:49 PM PT6:49 PM MT7:49 PM CT8:49 PM ET20:49 ET0:49 GMT8:49 5:49 PM MST7:49 PM EST8:19 PM VEN4:49 UAE (+1)7:49 PM CT-Bruce was 2 for 4 with two RBIs in Friday's win at San Francisco.
Analysis: Bruce is 14 for 31 with seven doubles and nine RBIs during an eight-game hitting streak.
June 27 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Bruce had three hits, including a pair of doubles, in a 3-1 win over San Francisco on Thursday night.
Analysis: Bruce, batting .240 this season, is 12 for 27 (.444) with seven doubles, two homers and seven RBIs in his last seven games.
June 26 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Bruce was 2 for 4 and drove in two runs Wednesday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Bruce has scored seven runs and driven in as many over his last six contests.
June 23 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Bruce had two hits Sunday.
Analysis: Bruce went 5 for 10 in the three-game set.
May 21 12:44 PM PT1:44 PM MT2:44 PM CT3:44 PM ET15:44 ET19:44 GMT3:44 12:44 PM MST2:44 PM EST3:14 PM VEN23:44 UAE2:44 PM CT-The Reds reinstated outfielder Jay Bruce from the 15-day DL on Wednesday.
Analysis: Bruce had arthroscopic surgery May 5 to repair a torn meniscus in his left knee.
May 4 12:44 PM PT1:44 PM MT2:44 PM CT3:44 PM ET15:44 ET19:44 GMT3:44 12:44 PM MST2:44 PM EST3:14 PM VEN23:44 UAE2:44 PM CT-Bruce was on hand to greet his Cincinnati teammates when they returned home Friday. The Reds right fielder wasn't able to travel with them to Boston after arthroscopic surgery Tuesday to repair a torn meniscus in his left knee. He is expected to miss about a month.
Analysis: Bruce was hitting .218 with three homers and 14 RBIs. His knee had been a problem for a while, he said.
Apr. 23 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Bruce was 2 for 4 and collected his 12th RBI Tuesday against the Pirates.
Analysis: Bruce is 9 for 22 with four RBIs during a modest five-game hitting streak. He leads Cincinnati with 15 runs scored in 19 games.
Apr. 21 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Bruce was 2 for 5 with his third homer of the year Sunday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Bruce is hitting just .220 but has 10 RBIs in 17 games.
Apr. 5 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Bruce homered and drove in all three runs Friday night in a 4-3 loss to the New York Mets.
Analysis: Bruce had two hits and a home run in consecutive games before going 0 for 4 in a 6-3 loss to the Mets on Saturday. He's batting .200 (4 for 20) with five RBIs in the first five games this season.
Apr. 4 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Bruce went 2 for 4 with a homer and two RBIs on Thursday for the Reds.
Analysis: Bruce busted out of an 0-for-7 slump.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Cin 108 413 63 105 17 1 21 52 33 110 4 6 .254 .314 .453
2009 Cin 101 345 47 77 15 2 22 58 38 75 3 3 .223 .303 .470
2010 Cin 148 509 80 143 23 5 25 70 58 136 5 4 .281 .353 .493
2011 Cin 157 585 84 150 27 2 32 97 71 158 8 7 .256 .341 .474
2012 Cin 155 560 89 141 35 5 34 99 62 155 9 3 .252 .327 .514
2013 Cin 160 626 89 164 43 1 30 109 63 185 7 3 .262 .329 .478
2014 Cin 87 311 48 67 19 1 10 42 37 99 9 2 .215 .300 .379
Career 916 3349 500 847 179 17 174 527 362 918 45 28 .253 .327 .472

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Cin Total 3 8 1 2 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 0 .250 .400 .625
    LDS 3 8 1 2 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 0 .250 .400 .625
2012 Cin Total 5 19 2 5 2 0 1 4 2 2 0 1 .263 .364 .526
    LDS 5 19 2 5 2 0 1 4 2 2 0 1 .263 .364 .526
2013 Cin Total 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    WC 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 9 31 3 8 2 0 2 6 4 4 0 1 .258 .361 .516


127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.