MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#14
David Price
ERA W-L K
3.25 13-10 232
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-6 / 210 NFBC ADP: 52.01
Position: SPBorn: 8/26/1985 Birthplace: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Devil Rays (2007)


Latest News
Aug. 27 6:18 PM PT7:18 PM MT8:18 PM CT9:18 PM ET21:18 ET1:18 GMT9:18 6:18 PM MST8:18 PM EST8:48 PM VEN5:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-Price allowed nine consecutive hits to the New York Yankees in the third inning before being pulled Wednesday night, a stunning outing for the left-hander who had thrown a one-hitter in his previous start.
Analysis: The Yankees scored eight runs in the inning, all charged to Price. Jacoby Ellsbury, New York's leadoff hitter, was also batting first in the third - so the Yankees went all the way through their batting order, with each batter adding a hit before reliever Blaine Hardy replaced Price and retired the first man he faced.
Aug. 22 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Price limited Tampa Bay to one run and one hit while striking out nine in eight innings Thursday, but he was stuck with the decision in a 1-0 loss to his old team.
Analysis: The left-hander is 1-1 with a 2.35 ERA in four starts since making the move to the AL Central.
Aug. 6 11:56 AM PT12:56 PM MT1:56 PM CT2:56 PM ET14:56 ET18:56 GMT2:56 11:56 AM MST1:56 PM EST2:26 PM VEN22:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Price didn't receive a decision in his first start for Detroit but struck out 10 in 8 2-3 innings while yielding three runs and eight hits in a 4-3 win over the Yankees on Tuesday.
Analysis: Price, who leads the majors with 199 strikeouts, has struck out 10 or more 10 times this year.
July 31 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-The Detroit Tigers have added another Cy Young Award winner to their star-studded rotation, acquiring Price in a three-team blockbuster Thursday. The Rays received left-hander Drew Smyly and minor league infielder Willy Adames from the Tigers. Tampa Bay also got infielder Nick Franklin from Seattle, with Detroit outfielder Austin Jackson going to the Mariners.
Analysis: The trade joins Price with Max Scherzer and Justin Verlander, the past three AL Cy Young Award winners in the AL Central-leading Tigers rotation.
July 29 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Price says he hopes to stay with the team as the trade deadline approaches.
Analysis: Price said before Tuesday night's game against Milwaukee that "hopefully" he'll remain with the Rays. He said that we'll "have some answers here in the next couple of days."
July 26 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Price won his sixth straight start in Friday's 6-4 victory over the Red Sox, giving up three runs over eight innings with 10 strikeouts.
Analysis: Price has been one of the best pitchers in baseball over his last six starts, going 6-0 while posting a 1.31 ERA.
July 20 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Price was at it again in Saturday's 5-1 win at Minnesota.
Analysis: Price allowed four hits and struck out nine over eight scoreless innings. He's won five consecutive starts behind a remarkable 0.90 ERA.
July 14 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Price won his fourth straight start Sunday.
Analysis: The 'Price' was right as he scattered five hits in eight-plus innings with five strikeouts. He leads the majors with 164 Ks.
July 7 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Price won his third straight start Sunday, giving up three runs and seven hits over 8 2-3 innings in a 7-3 win at Detroit.
Analysis: Price has thrown 48 innings over his last six starts while striking out 58.
July 2 10:58 AM PT11:58 AM MT12:58 PM CT1:58 PM ET13:58 ET17:58 GMT1:58 10:58 AM MST12:58 PM EST1:28 PM VEN21:58 UAE12:58 PM CT-Price came within one pitch of extending his remarkable strikeout streak, yet still did plenty to lead the resurgent Tampa Bay Rays over the New York Yankees 2-1 Tuesday night for their fourth straight victory.
Analysis: Price (7-7) struck out nine - he fanned at least 10 in each of his previous five starts, and was trying to join Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson and Nolan Ryan as the only pitchers to accomplish the feat six straight times. The left-hander gave up four hits and was pulled after seven innings and 119 pitches. He fanned Francisco Cervelli for the second out in the bottom of the seventh, then got two strikes on both Yangervis Solarte and Brett Gardner, but couldn't get No. 10.
June 26 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Price struck out 11, becoming the first pitcher in 10 years to fan at least 10 in five straight starts, and the Rays beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-1 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Price gave up five hits and one walk in 8 1-3 innings, leaving the game after Andrew McCutchen's home run in the ninth. "I've never been as good as I am right now, period. Not in 2012 (when he won the Cy Young Award), not in college, not in high school," declared Price, who is rumored to be on the trading block from the last-place Rays. "This is the best pitcher I've ever been."
May 14 10:47 AM PT11:47 AM MT12:47 PM CT1:47 PM ET13:47 ET17:47 GMT1:47 10:47 AM MST12:47 PM EST1:17 PM VEN21:47 UAE12:47 PM CT-Price allowed a run on six hits while fanning 12 and firing his second complete game of the season in Tuesday's 2-1 win in Seattle.
Analysis: The left-hander matched a season high for strikeouts and saw his ERA dip over half a run from 4.53 to 4.02. He's still being hit at an unfamiliar .271 clip.
May 3 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Price was solid on the mound Friday.
Analysis: Price allowed two runs and struck out eight in seven innings ahead of next week's start vs. the O's.
Apr. 23 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Price notched his third win in his first complete game of the season Tuesday against Minnesota.
Analysis: Price, who finished two shy of a career high with 12 strikeouts, has been somewhat shaky in the season's early going but owners hope Tuesday's performance gets him going in the right direction.
Apr. 18 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-CC Sabathia pitched seven innings for a rare win at Tropicana Field, leading the New York Yankees past David Price and the Tampa Bay Rays 10-2 Thursday night in a matchup of former AL Cy Young Award winners.
Analysis: Price (2-1, 4.39 ERA) entered 6-1 in nine starts against Sabathia but gave up season highs of six runs and 10 hits in five innings.
Apr. 12 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Price notched his second win Friday against Cincinnati, limiting the Reds to one run and four hits over 8 1-3 innings of work.
Analysis: Price - who struck out a season-high 10 - is 2-0 with a 2.91 ERA in three starts.
Apr. 1 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Price shut down the Blue Jays in Monday's season-opening 9-2 victory.
Analysis: Price allowed two runs, six hits and struck out six in 7 1-3 innings. He's well on his way to surpassing his 10 wins from last season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 TB 0 0 0 - 0 5 1 0 14.0 9 4 3 1 4 0 12 0.93 1.93
2009 TB 10 7 0 - 0 23 23 0 128.1 119 72 63 17 54 0 102 1.35 4.42
2010 TB 19 6 0 - 0 32 31 2 208.2 170 71 63 15 79 1 188 1.19 2.72
2011 TB 12 13 0 - 0 34 34 0 224.1 192 93 87 22 63 5 218 1.14 3.49
2012 TB 20 5 0 - 0 31 31 2 211.0 173 63 60 16 59 2 205 1.10 2.56
2013 TB 10 8 0 - 0 27 27 4 186.2 178 78 69 16 27 0 151 1.10 3.33
2014 TB 11 8 0 - 0 23 23 2 170.2 156 68 59 20 23 1 189 1.05 3.11
2014 Det 2 2 0 - 0 6 6 1 39.2 37 18 17 3 9 0 43 1.16 3.86
2014 Tot 13 10 0 - 0 29 29 3 210.1 193 86 76 23 32 1 232 1.07 3.25
Career 84 49 0 - 0 181 176 11 1183.1 1034 467 421 110 318 9 1108 1.14 3.20

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 TB 23 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2010 TB 32 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2011 TB 34 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2012 TB 31 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2013 TB 27 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 TB 23 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tot 29 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 181 28 0 2 0 0 0 0 2 13 0 0 .071 .133 .071

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 TB Total 1 0 1 - 1 5 0 0 5.2 2 2 1 1 4 0 8 1.59
    LCS 1 0 1 - 1 3 0 0 2.1 0 0 0 0 2 0 4 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 2 2 1 1 2 0 4 2.70
2010 TB Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.2 17 8 7 2 0 0 14 4.97
    LDS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.2 17 8 7 2 0 0 14 4.97
2011 TB Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 7 3 3 1 1 0 3 4.05
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 7 3 3 1 1 0 3 4.05
2013 TB Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 9 7 7 2 2 0 5 9.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 9 7 7 2 2 0 5 9.00
Career 1 4 1 - 1 9 4 0 32.0 35 20 18 6 7 0 30 5.06


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1928 97 87 93.2 57.14
Curveball 309 85 74 79.3 9.16
Changeup 667 88 81 85 19.77
Cut Fastball 470 92 83 86.6 13.93

127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.