MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#22
Clayton Kershaw
ERA W-L K
1.77 21-3 239
Team: LA DodgersHt / Wt: 6-3 / 225 NFBC ADP: 7.42
Position: SPBorn: 3/19/1988 Birthplace: Dallas, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Dodgers (2006)


Latest News
Oct. 6 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-The Los Angeles Dodgers will go to ace Clayton Kershaw on three days' rest in Game 4 of their NL Division Series against the St. Louis Cardinals.
Analysis: Manager Don Mattingly made the announcement Monday before Game 3 in a best-of-five series tied at a game apiece. He added he ''pretty much knew'' before the series started. Kershaw is set to pitch Tuesday night. Mattingly said Zack Greinke would start a potential Game 5.
Sep. 25 12:34 PM PT1:34 PM MT2:34 PM CT3:34 PM ET15:34 ET19:34 GMT3:34 12:34 PM MST2:34 PM EST3:04 PM VEN23:34 UAE2:34 PM CT-Kershaw tied a career high with his 21st victory, and the Los Angeles Dodgers won the NL West title with a 9-1 victory over the second-place San Francisco Giants on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Kershaw allowed one run and eight hits in eight innings, struck out 11 and walked none in his last start of the regular season, having won his final seven starts. He became the first player to lead the major leagues in ERA (1.77) in four consecutive seasons. Kershaw tied his career high in wins from 2011. The Dodgers are 23-4 in his 27 starts this season.
Sep. 20 10:54 AM PT11:54 AM MT12:54 PM CT1:54 PM ET13:54 ET17:54 GMT1:54 10:54 AM MST12:54 PM EST1:24 PM VEN21:54 UAE12:54 PM CT-Kershaw became the majors' first 20-game winner after a 14-5 victory over the Chicago Cubs on Friday.
Analysis: Kershaw (20-3, 1.80 ERA) pitched five shaky innings in his shortest start in 3 1/2 months, but the NL West-leading Dodgers roughed up Edwin Jackson on their way to a 13-hit attack that included four homers. Kershaw gave up three runs and seven hits while striking out nine in his sixth consecutive win. The left-hander, a prohibitive favorite for his second consecutive NL Cy Young Award, is 17-1 with a 1.39 ERA in his last 20 starts.
Sep. 15 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Kershaw (19-3) boosted his credentials for the NL MVP and a third Cy Young Award with another big performance in a big start Sunday. The left-hander allowed seven hits, struck out nine and walked one in eight innings against the Giants.
Analysis: He lowered his majors-best ERA to 1.70, and put the Dodgers in command of the NL West division.
Sep. 9 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Kershaw limited the Padres to three runs - one earned - and three hits with eight strikeouts in Monday's victory.
Analysis: He's won an MLB-best 18 games, has a 1.67 ERA, is holding opponents to a .188 average and has a 0.82 WHIP. Those are all MLB lows. Pencil him in for a third NL Cy Young in four years.
Aug. 28 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Kershaw allowed an unearned run and struck out 10 in eight innings of Wednesday's 3-1 victory over Arizona.
Analysis: Kershaw has struck out at least 10 in three straight outings, and his 16 wins are the most in the majors.
Aug. 1 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Kershaw won his 10th straight decision on Thursday while recording his third complete game in four starts, limiting Atlanta to one run in a 2-1 victory.
Analysis: Kershaw continues to be the best pitcher on the planet, posting a 0.94 ERA in 11 starts while striking out 104 in 86 innings since his last defeat.
July 27 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Kershaw turned in yet another dominant outing Saturday, yielding just two hits while going the distance for the fourth time this season in a 5-0 win at San Francisco.
Analysis: Kershaw remains virtually untouchable, going 7-0 in his last eight starts while surrendering five runs in 64 innings with 77 strikeouts.
July 21 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Kershaw couldn't hold a two-run lead in a ballpark that's been rough on him Sunday.
Analysis: Kershaw was less than dominant, giving up three runs in seven innings. He'd been 8-0 with an 0.74 ERA his previous eight starts. "It was a struggle," said Kershaw. "I didn't have a great idea where the ball was going for most of the night and I left some balls up." He faces the rival Giants next.
July 11 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Chase Headley snapped Kershaw's streak at 41 innings with a tying homer in the sixth, but the two-time Cy Young Award winner finished with a three-hitter and 11 strikeouts in a 2-1 victory Thursday night over the San Diego Padres.
Analysis: Kershaw (11-2) won his eighth straight start and came within 18 innings of the major league record set by Dodgers right-hander Orel Hershiser, who threw 59 consecutive shutout innings in 1988. Kershaw's run tied Luis Tiant for the fifth-longest in the expansion era (since 1961).
July 5 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Kershaw nearly had no-hit stuff against Colorado again, allowing only two singles over eight innings as the Dodgers beat the Rockies 9-0 on Friday night.
Analysis: He extended his scoreless streak to 36 innings before being replaced by a pinch hitter in the ninth. Kershaw bottled up the top-hitting team in the majors in nearly matching the no-hitter he threw against the Rockies on June 18 at Dodger Stadium. Kershaw struck out eight and walked one. "You don't ever want to give up a run," Kershaw casually said. "I guess that's the goal."
June 30 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Kershaw won his sixth straight start with his third straight scoreless outing in Sunday's 6-0 defeat of the Cardinals, yielding five hits and striking out 13.
Analysis: Kershaw has been absolutely dominant during his six-start winning streak, yielding just four runs in 44 innings.
June 25 1:29 PM PT2:29 PM MT3:29 PM CT4:29 PM ET16:29 ET20:29 GMT4:29 1:29 PM MST3:29 PM EST3:59 PM VEN0:29 UAE (+1)3:29 PM CT-Kershaw followed his first career no-hitter with eight marvelous innings, and the Los Angeles Dodgers beat the Kansas City Royals 2-0 on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Kershaw (8-2, 2.24 ERA) allowed six hits and a walk while striking out eight. The two-time Cy Young winner hasn't allowed a run in 21 1-3 innings, spanning his near-perfect game against Colorado on Wednesday - the only runner occurred on an error - and his previous start against Arizona.
June 19 10:12 PM PT11:12 PM MT12:12 AM CT1:12 AM ET1:12 ET5:12 GMT13:12 10:12 PM MST12:12 AM EST12:42 AM VEN9:12 UAE12:12 AM CT-Kershaw threw a no-hitter for Los Angeles Dodgers, beating Colorado Rockies 8-0 on Wednesday.
Analysis: The two-time Cy Young Award winner had not allowed a baserunner until Corey Dickerson reached on a two-base throwing error by shortstop Hanley Ramirez to start the seventh. He fanned 15.
May 24 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Kershaw bounced back from a rare rough outing Friday, limiting the Phillies to two hits over six scoreless innings in a 2-0 win.
Analysis: Kershaw had given up seven runs and six hits over 1 2-3 innings in an 18-7 loss at Arizona on May 17.
May 18 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Kershaw had a rare poor showing Saturday, allowing seven runs and six hits in 1 2-3 innings in an 18-7 loss at Arizona.
Analysis: It was the most runs Kershaw gave up in a start since July 2012. He's 1-1 with a 5.74 ERA in three starts since coming off the disabled list.
May 7 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Kershaw pitched seven shutout innings in his first outing since opening day, and the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Washington Nationals 8-3 on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Kershaw (2-0, 0.66 ERA) was stubborn in his return after missing 32 games, allowing nine hits but striking out nine without a walk. The two-time NL Cy Young winner had been on the disabled list for the first time in his career, sidelined by a strained back muscle after winning March 22 in the major league opener in Australia.
May 6 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Kershaw was activated from the disabled list by the Los Angeles Dodgers, who kept outfielder Yasiel Puig out of the starting lineup for the second straight night.
Analysis: Kershaw allowed one run in 6 2-3 innings of a 3-1 victory over Arizona in the March 22 opener at Sydney. The two-time NL Cy Young Award winner strained a back muscle and went on the DL for the first time in his major league career.
Apr. 20 12:04 PM PT1:04 PM MT2:04 PM CT3:04 PM ET15:04 ET19:04 GMT3:04 12:04 PM MST2:04 PM EST2:34 PM VEN23:04 UAE2:04 PM CT-Kershaw allowed two runs and six hits in five innings during Wednesday night's injury rehabilitation stint with the Double-A Chattanooga Lookouts.
Analysis: Kershaw last pitched for the Dodgers on March 22, when they opened the season with a 3-1 win over Arizona in Australia. He was put on the disabled list for the first time in his career several days later because of a strained upper back.
Mar. 26 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Kershaw was activated from the disabled list by the Los Angeles Dodgers.
Analysis: Kershaw allowed one run in 6 2-3 innings of a 3-1 victory over Arizona in the March 22 opener at Sydney. The two-time NL Cy Young Award In the process, the reigning NL Cy Young winner strained a back muscle and went on the DL for the first time in his major league career.
Mar. 23 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Kershaw flashed his Cy Young form as the NL West champions opened the Major League Baseball season with a 3-1 win over the Arizona Diamondbacks on Saturday night at Sydney Cricket Ground.
Analysis: Kershaw, who signed a seven-year, $215 million contract in January, allowed one run and five hits in 6 2-3 innings in the first-ever MLB game in Australia.
Mar. 16 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE11:28 PM CT-Kershaw struggled in his final start before opening the regular season in Australia.
Analysis: Kershaw allowed five runs on eight hits in 5 2-3 innings in the Dodgers' 5-4 loss to the Chicago White Sox on Saturday night.
Mar. 9 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Kershaw and Hyun-Jin Ryu will be the Dodgers' starting pitchers in their two-game season-opening series in Australia against the Arizona Diamondbacks. The games will be played March 22-23 at Sydney Cricket Ground.
Analysis: Kershaw will be making his fourth straight season-opening start for Los Angeles.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 LAD 5 5 0 - 0 22 21 0 107.2 109 51 51 11 52 3 100 1.50 4.26
2009 LAD 8 8 0 - 0 31 30 0 171.0 119 55 53 7 91 4 185 1.23 2.79
2010 LAD 13 10 0 - 0 32 32 1 204.1 160 73 66 13 81 9 212 1.18 2.91
2011 LAD 21 5 0 - 0 33 33 5 233.1 174 66 59 15 54 2 248 0.98 2.28
2012 LAD 14 9 0 - 0 33 33 2 227.2 170 70 64 16 63 5 229 1.02 2.53
2013 LAD 16 9 0 - 0 33 33 3 236.0 164 55 48 11 52 2 232 0.92 1.83
2014 LAD 21 3 0 - 0 27 27 6 198.1 139 42 39 9 31 0 239 0.86 1.77
Career 98 49 0 - 0 211 209 17 1378.1 1035 412 380 82 424 25 1445 1.06 2.48

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 LAD 22 29 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 13 0 0 .069 .069 .069
2009 LAD 31 48 2 5 0 0 0 2 3 16 0 0 .104 .157 .104
2010 LAD 32 55 4 3 0 0 0 1 1 17 0 0 .055 .071 .055
2011 LAD 33 71 10 16 0 0 0 4 3 13 0 0 .225 .267 .225
2012 LAD 34 58 2 12 1 0 0 2 2 19 0 0 .207 .230 .224
2013 LAD 35 77 8 14 3 0 1 10 5 24 0 0 .182 .241 .260
2014 LAD 27 63 5 11 0 1 0 3 4 23 1 0 .175 .235 .206
Career 214 401 32 63 4 1 1 22 18 125 1 0 .157 .199 .180

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 1 1 1 0 2 0 1 4.50
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 1 1 1 0 2 0 1 4.50
2009 LAD Total 0 1 0 - 0 3 2 0 13.1 14 9 9 3 7 1 10 6.08
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 9 2 2 1 1 1 4 2.70
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 6.2 5 7 7 2 6 0 6 9.45
2013 LAD Total 1 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 23.0 18 11 8 0 7 1 28 3.13
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 6 3 1 0 4 0 18 0.69
    LCS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 12 8 7 0 3 1 10 6.30
2014 LAD Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.2 12 11 11 3 2 0 19 7.82
    LDS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.2 12 11 11 3 2 0 19 7.82
Career 1 5 0 - 0 11 8 0 51.0 45 32 29 6 18 2 58 5.12

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 LAD Total 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .333 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -
2013 LAD Total 4 8 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .125 .125 .125
    LDS 2 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 2 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2014 LAD Total 2 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .500 .667 .500
    LDS 2 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .500 .667 .500
Career 11 12 0 2 0 0 0 0 2 3 0 0 .167 .286 .167


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1510 96 87 92.6 55.47
Curveball 389 77 60 73.9 14.29
Slider 795 92 76 87.3 29.21
Changeup 28 92 85 88.3 1.03

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.