MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#55
Mat Latos
ERA W-L K
4.29 4-7 80
Team: LA DodgersHt / Wt: 6-6 / 244 NFBC ADP: 186.99
Position: SPBorn: 12/9/1987 Birthplace: Alexandria, Virginia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 11th Round by Padres (2006)


Latest News
July 30 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-The first-place Los Angeles Dodgers have bolstered their pitching staff, acquiring Mat Latos from the Miami Marlins and Alex Wood, Jim Johnson and Luis Avilan from the Atlanta Braves in a 13-player deal.
Analysis: Latos is 4-7 with a 4.48 ERA in 16 starts.
July 1 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Latos yielded three runs in six innings in a 5-3 win over San Francisco on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Latos (3-5, 5.27 ERA) was charged with five runs in seven innings in his previous start, a 6-1 loss to St. Louis on June 24.
June 25 9:33 AM PT10:33 AM MT11:33 AM CT12:33 PM ET12:33 ET16:33 GMT0:33 9:33 AM MST11:33 AM EST12:03 PM VEN20:33 UAE11:33 AM CT-Latos fell to 2-5 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Latos threw seven innings, giving up three hits and two walks - with all five of those runners scoring, and all earned. His career ERA against the Cards is 5.76.
June 19 6:04 PM PT7:04 PM MT8:04 PM CT9:04 PM ET21:04 ET1:04 GMT9:04 6:04 PM MST8:04 PM EST8:34 PM VEN5:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Latos is back in Cincinnati for the first time since he criticized the Reds' front office and clubhouse.
Analysis: The Marlins starter isn't scheduled to pitch during a three-game series this weekend at Great American Ball Park. He's disappointed, saying that he learned how to pitch in the hitter-friendly park and would like to throw there again.
June 19 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Latos did not get a decision Thursday.
Analysis: Latos was charged with three runs and failed to get through the sixth inning against the powerful Yanks.
June 14 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE12:26 PM CT-Latos fanned a season-best 11 and allowed one run in seven innings in a 4-1 win over Colorado on Saturday.
Analysis: Latos (2-4, 5.44 ERA) gave up 11 runs in 8 1-3 innings in his previous two starts. The win was his first in four games.
May 23 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-The Marlins placed starting pitchers Henderson Alvarez and Latos on the 15-day disabled list, recalled right-hander Andre Rienzo and selected the contract of right-hander Vin Mazzaro from Triple-A New Orleans.
Analysis: Latos, who is 1-4 with a 6.12 ERA, is dealing with left knee inflammation, the same knee he had surgery on last season while with Cincinnati.
May 16 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Latos left the Miami Marlins' game against Atlanta in the fourth inning Saturday with a bruised left shin after being hit by a line drive.
Analysis: X-rays were negative, but Latos said there was swelling and a knot on his shin. He walked out of the clubhouse using a crutch and was noncommittal about whether he'll be able to make his next scheduled start Thursday against Arizona. He crumpled face down on the turf after being hit by Cameron Maybin's liner. After being examined by a trainer, he rose, limped off the field and hopped down the dugout steps.
May 16 12:00 PM PT1:00 PM MT2:00 PM CT3:00 PM ET15:00 ET19:00 GMT3:00 12:00 PM MST2:00 PM EST2:30 PM VEN23:00 UAE2:00 PM CT-Latos has left the Miami Marlins' game against Atlanta with a bruised left shin after being hit by a line drive.
Analysis: Latos crumpled face down on the turf after being hit by Cameron Maybin's liner in the fourth inning Saturday. Latos rolled over onto his back. And after being examined by a trainer, he rose, limped off the field and hopped down the dugout steps. His status is day to day.
Apr. 29 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Latos is dealing with a hamstring issue.
Analysis: He is day to day.
Apr. 8 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-The Atlanta Braves scored seven runs in the first inning off Mat Latos and beat the Miami Marlins for the second day in a row to start the season, 12-2 on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Latos, acquired from Cincinnati in the offseason, lasted only two-thirds of an inning in the shortest outing of his career. He was booed as he left the game, his first for his hometown team, and departed with an ERA of 94.50. It was the shortest outing by a starting pitcher in his Marlins debut, according to STATS. Latos (0-1) failed to record a strikeout for the first time in 154 career starts.
Feb. 4 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET0:22 GMT8:22 5:22 PM MST7:22 PM EST7:52 PM VEN4:22 UAE (+1)6:22 PM CT-The Miami Marlins have defeated Latos in Major League Baseball's first salary arbitration case this year that went to a hearing.
Analysis: The 27-year-old right-hander will receive the club's offer of $9.4 million rather than his request for $10.4 million. Arbitrators Margaret Brogan, Phillip LaPorte and Steven Wolf made the decision Thursday, a day after listening to arguments. Latos made $7.25 million last year, when he was 5-5 with a 3.25 ERA for Cincinnati in 16 starts. He had surgery in October 2013 to remove bone spurs from his pitching elbow and another operation on Feb. 14 for torn cartilage

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 SD 4 5 0 - 0 10 10 0 50.2 43 29 26 7 23 1 39 1.30 4.62
2010 SD 14 10 0 - 0 31 31 1 184.2 150 63 60 16 50 3 189 1.08 2.92
2011 SD 9 14 0 - 0 31 31 0 194.1 168 82 75 16 62 3 185 1.18 3.47
2012 Cin 14 4 0 - 0 33 33 2 209.1 179 87 81 25 64 9 185 1.16 3.48
2013 Cin 14 7 0 - 0 32 32 1 210.2 197 82 74 14 58 5 187 1.21 3.16
2014 Cin 5 5 0 - 0 16 16 0 102.1 92 42 37 9 26 2 74 1.15 3.25
2015 Mia 4 7 0 - 0 16 16 0 88.1 85 46 44 8 25 0 79 1.25 4.48
2015 LAD 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 1 1 0 1 0 1 0.83 1.50
2015 Tot 4 7 0 - 0 17 17 0 94.1 89 47 45 8 26 0 80 1.22 4.29
Career 64 52 0 - 0 170 170 4 1046.1 918 432 398 95 309 23 939 1.17 3.42

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 SD 10 19 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 9 0 0 .053 .053 .053
2010 SD 31 54 3 6 2 0 1 3 0 29 0 0 .111 .111 .204
2011 SD 31 56 3 4 1 0 1 1 1 28 0 0 .071 .103 .143
2012 Cin 33 65 2 12 1 0 1 4 3 32 0 0 .185 .229 .246
2013 Cin 32 71 3 9 2 0 0 4 1 28 0 0 .127 .139 .155
2014 Cin 16 30 2 3 0 0 0 1 1 12 0 0 .100 .129 .100
2015 Mia 16 18 0 5 0 0 0 1 0 6 0 0 .278 .278 .278
2015 LAD 1 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2015 Tot 17 20 0 6 0 0 0 1 0 6 0 0 .300 .300 .300
Career 170 315 13 41 6 0 3 14 6 144 0 0 .130 .151 .178

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Cin Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.1 11 7 6 2 2 0 5 6.48
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.1 11 7 6 2 2 0 5 6.48
Career 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.1 11 7 6 2 2 0 5 6.48

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Cin Total 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 912 97 87 91.2 63.55
Curveball 108 80 72 76.2 7.53
Slider 203 89 80 84.6 14.15
Changeup 61 86 81 83.3 4.25
Split-Finger 151 84 77 80.5 10.52

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.