MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#58
Doug Fister
ERA W-L K
2.41 16-6 98
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-8 / 210 NFBC ADP: 147.83
Position: SPBorn: 2/4/1984 Birthplace: Merced, California
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 7th Round by Mariners (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 27 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-The NL East champion Washington Nationals locked up home-field advantage until the World Series by beating the Miami Marlins 4-0 on Doug Fister's three-hitter in the opener of a day-night doubleheader Friday.
Analysis: His sinker producing groundout after groundout, Fister (16-6, 2.41 ERA) threw the second shutout of his career and looked ready to go for what presumably will be a start in Game 1 or 2 of Washington's NLDS next week. Fister didn't walk a batter, hit one, and struck out nine. He threw 104 pitches, 77 for strikes. Fister went 4-0 with a 1.26 ERA in his final four starts of the regular season.
Sep. 20 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Fister won his third straight start Friday with a 3-2 victory over Miami.
Analysis: Fister (15-6, 2.55 ERA) gave up two runs and five hits in 6 2-3 innings to the Marlins. He has a 1.83 ERA and 0.92 WHIP in his last three starts.
Sep. 9 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Fister allowed just two hits over seven innings in Monday's 2-1 win over Atlanta.
Analysis: Fister bounced back nicely after he had gone 0-3 with a 5.94 ERA over his previous three starts.
Aug. 23 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)6:19 PM CT-A day after Washington pitcher Doug Fister said he recently had surgery to remove skin cancer from his neck, Nationals manager Matt Williams says players and coaches are very aware they're at risk for the disease.
Analysis: Williams says it's a big issue in baseball because there's constant exposure to the sun. Fister pitched six innings Friday night in a 10-3 loss to San Francisco, ending Washington's 10-game winning streak 10-3. Fister was asked after the game about what appeared to be a cut on his neck. He said he had some skin cancer removed a couple of days earlier, and that he was OK. Williams said there was no thought given to Fister skipping his turn in the rotation.
Aug. 2 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Fister lost for the first time in seven starts Friday despite only giving up two runs in seven innings of a 2-1 defeat to Philadelphia.
Analysis: Six of Fister's last seven outings have been quality starts.
July 28 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Fister took advantage of facing the Reds to extend the best season-opening start by any Washington pitcher in a 4-2 Nationals' win Sunday.
Analysis: Fister allowed just three hits with one walk - he has walked more than one batter in just three of his last 17 starts dating back to last season - and five strikeouts in seven shutout innings to reach 10 wins in 14 starts, one fewer than any previous Washington pitcher. Gio Gonzalez reached 10 wins in 15 starts in 2012, and Jordan Zimmermann duplicated him last season.
July 22 11:52 AM PT12:52 PM MT1:52 PM CT2:52 PM ET14:52 ET18:52 GMT2:52 11:52 AM MST1:52 PM EST2:22 PM VEN22:52 UAE1:52 PM CT-Fister allowed two runs over 5 2-3 innings to win 7-2 at Colorado on Monday.
Analysis: Fister yielded a season high-tying nine hits and two walks but managed to limit the damage. He's 4-0 with a 2.67 ERA in his last five outings.
July 3 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Fister improved to 7-2 Wednesday, giving up three runs over seven innings in a 4-3 victory over Colorado.
Analysis: Fister is 7-1 with a 2.44 ERA in 10 starts since surrendering five earned runs in just 4 1-3 innings versus Oakland on May 9 in his season debut.
June 22 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Fister allowed five hits over eight innings in a 3-0 win over Atlanta on Saturday.
Analysis: Fister has pitched well, going 6-1 with a 2.03 ERA over his last eight starts.
June 11 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Fister allowed eight hits in seven scoreless innings in Tuesday's win in San Francisco.
Analysis: The right-hander has won five straight starts with a 1.95 ERA.
May 15 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Fister allowed one run and five hits over seven innings Wednesday, but did not factor in the decision of a 5-1 win at Arizona.
Analysis: It was a promising showing for Fister, who had been knocked around in his first start since coming off the disabled list May 9.
Mar. 27 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Fister struggled in his return to the rotation, allowing seven runs - five earned - and nine hits over 4 1-3 innings in Friday's 8-0 loss in Oakland.
Analysis: Fister was coming off a stint on the disabled list due to a right lat strain.
Feb. 1 12:15 PM PT1:15 PM MT2:15 PM CT3:15 PM ET15:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)2:15 PM CT-Fister's arbitration-avoiding contract with the Washington Nationals is for one year with a base salary of $7.2 million.
Analysis: Fister also can earn performance bonuses of $75,000 each for reaching 200 and 210 innings pitched. He threw 208 2-3 innings last season, when he went 14-9 with a 3.67 ERA for the Detroit Tigers. Washington acquired him in a trade.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Sea 3 4 0 - 0 11 10 0 61.0 63 29 28 11 15 0 36 1.28 4.13
2010 Sea 6 14 0 - 0 28 28 0 171.0 187 85 78 13 32 2 93 1.28 4.11
2011 Sea 3 12 0 - 0 21 21 3 146.0 139 57 54 7 32 2 89 1.17 3.33
2011 Det 8 1 0 - 0 11 10 0 70.1 54 19 14 4 5 0 57 0.84 1.79
2011 Tot 11 13 0 - 0 32 31 3 216.1 193 76 68 11 37 2 146 1.06 2.83
2012 Det 10 10 0 - 0 26 26 2 161.2 156 73 62 15 37 1 137 1.19 3.45
2013 Det 14 9 0 - 0 33 32 1 208.2 229 91 85 14 44 2 159 1.31 3.67
2014 Was 16 6 0 - 0 25 25 1 164.0 153 52 44 18 24 0 98 1.08 2.41
Career 60 56 0 - 0 155 152 7 982.2 981 406 365 82 189 7 669 1.19 3.34

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Sea 28 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Sea 21 6 1 2 1 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .500
2011 Tot 32 6 1 2 1 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .500
2012 Det 26 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Det 33 5 0 2 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .400 .400 .400
2014 Was 26 52 3 4 1 0 0 0 1 21 0 0 .077 .094 .096
Career 156 67 4 8 2 0 0 2 1 26 0 0 .119 .132 .149

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Det Total 2 1 0 - 0 3 2 0 17.0 19 9 9 1 4 0 13 4.58
    LDS 1 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 12 7 7 1 4 0 10 6.52
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 7 2 2 0 0 0 3 2.45
2012 Det Total 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 19.1 16 3 3 0 7 0 16 1.40
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 6 2 2 0 2 0 8 2.57
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 6 0 0 0 4 0 5 0.00
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 1 1 0 1 0 3 1.50
2013 Det Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 15 4 4 1 2 0 8 3.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 3 3 1 1 0 1 4.50
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 8 1 1 0 1 0 7 1.50
2014 Was Total 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 4 0 0 0 3 0 3 0.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 4 0 0 0 3 0 3 0.00
Career 4 2 0 - 0 9 8 0 55.1 54 16 16 2 16 0 40 2.60

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Det Total 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Was Total 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 9 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1574 92 82 87.9 63.78
Curveball 219 77 69 72.7 8.87
Changeup 314 84 75 79.3 12.72
Cut Fastball 361 89 79 84.2 14.63

w12 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.