MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#15
Jason Castro
AVG HR RBI
.179 2 4
Team: HoustonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 216 NFBC ADP: 159.28
Position: CBorn: 6/18/1987 Birthplace: Castro Valley, California
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 1st Round by Astros (2008)


Latest News
Jan. 17 12:26 PM PT1:26 PM MT2:26 PM CT3:26 PM ET15:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 CST1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)2:26 PM CT-The Astros said Friday they have agreed to terms on one-year contracts with All-Star catcher Jason Castro and utility player Jesus Guzman. Terms were not disclosed. Castro and Guzman were the only two unsigned Astros players eligible for salary arbitration.
Analysis: The 26-year-old Castro hit .276 with 18 home runs and 56 RBIs in 120 games, setting single-season team records for a catcher with his homers, doubles (35), runs scored (63) and extra-base hits (54).
Sep. 19 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 CST2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Castro has had a cyst removed from his right knee and is expected to begin offseason workouts soon.
Analysis: The team announced Tuesday that Castro would miss the remainder of the season because of discomfort in his knee. Castro batted .276 with 18 homers and 56 RBIs, all career highs, in 120 games.
Sep. 17 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 CST5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Castro has been placed on the 15-day disabled list with discomfort in his right knee, ending his season. The Houston Astros hoped that he would respond to treatment and be able to return this season, but decided Tuesday that it would be better to shut him down.
Analysis: Castro had a cyst in his right knee drained on Sept. 3 and appeared in two games at designated hitter since then, but has not played defense. The 26-year-old Castro set career highs in games played (120), batting average (.276), home runs (18) and RBIs (56). He was selected the American League player of the week twice this season.
Sep. 2 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 CST1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Castro went 0 for 5 as the designated hitter in Friday's 7-5 loss at Oakland, his first game back since missing three due to a right knee injury.
Analysis: The All-Star catcher is mired in a 3-for-16 slump.
Aug. 27 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 CST3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Castro hit his 18th homer of the year in Houston's 10-8 win at Chicago on Monday.
Analysis: Castro is hitting .524 over his last seven games with four homers.
Aug. 25 11:58 AM PT12:58 PM MT1:58 PM CT2:58 PM ET14:58 ET18:58 GMT2:58 CST11:58 AM MST1:58 PM EST2:28 PM VEN22:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Castro homered twice and drove in three runs to lead the Houston Astros to an 8-5 win over the Toronto Blue Jays on Saturday night.
Analysis: Castro, who went 3 for 3, is batting .371 (26 for 70) with six doubles, a triple and five homers in his last 19 games. He's also driven in 16 runs over that stretch.
Aug. 10 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 CST3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Castro was 2 for 4 with his 14th homer in Houston's 9-5 loss to Texas on Friday, extending his hitting streak to nine games.
Analysis: Castro is hitting .371 during his streak with six runs and nine RBIs.
Aug. 8 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 CST3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Castro was 2 for 4 with his 30th double in Houston's 7-5 loss to Boston on Wednesday, extending his hitting streak to eight games.
Analysis: Castro is 11 for 31 during the streak, driving in seven runs.
Aug. 1 12:30 PM PT1:30 PM MT2:30 PM CT3:30 PM ET15:30 ET19:30 GMT3:30 CST12:30 PM MST2:30 PM EST3:00 PM VEN23:30 UAE2:30 PM CT-Castro hit a grand slam in Wednesday's 11-0 wipeout of the O's.
Analysis: Castro went 3 for 4 and went deep for the first time since July 6.
July 7 12:26 PM PT1:26 PM MT2:26 PM CT3:26 PM ET15:26 ET19:26 GMT3:26 CST12:26 PM MST2:26 PM EST2:56 PM VEN23:26 UAE2:26 PM CT-Castro hit a tiebreaking three-run homer a few hours after becoming the first American League All-Star for the Astros, and Houston went on to beat the Rangers 9-5 on Saturday night.
Analysis: Castro is 5 for 9 with four runs in the last two games.
June 18 12:30 PM PT1:30 PM MT2:30 PM CT3:30 PM ET15:30 ET19:30 GMT3:30 CST12:30 PM MST2:30 PM EST3:00 PM VEN23:30 UAE2:30 PM CT-Castro doubled twice and drove in two runs for the Astros in Monday's 4-2 loss to Chicago.
Analysis: Castro is 7 for 15 with two homers and five RBIs in the last four games.
June 6 11:57 AM PT12:57 PM MT1:57 PM CT2:57 PM ET14:57 ET18:57 GMT2:57 CST11:57 AM MST1:57 PM EST2:27 PM VEN22:57 UAE1:57 PM CT-Castro hit a two-run homer in Wednesday's 11-7 win over Baltimore.
Analysis: Castro has been plenty productive of late, going 19 for 53 (.358) with five homers, 12 runs and nine RBIs over his last 15 games.
May 27 12:09 PM PT1:09 PM MT2:09 PM CT3:09 PM ET15:09 ET19:09 GMT3:09 CST12:09 PM MST2:09 PM EST2:39 PM VEN23:09 UAE2:09 PM CT-Castro had four hits in a 6-2 loss to the A's on Sunday.
Analysis: Castro has 10 hits in his last 12 at-bats.
May 26 11:12 AM PT12:12 PM MT1:12 PM CT2:12 PM ET14:12 ET18:12 GMT2:12 CST11:12 AM MST1:12 PM EST1:42 PM VEN22:12 UAE1:12 PM CT-Castro was 3 for 4 with two home runs in Houston's 11-5 loss to Oakland on Saturday.
Analysis: Castro already has six homers in 42 games this year after homering a total of eight times in 154 games in his career prior to this season.
May 2 12:35 PM PT1:35 PM MT2:35 PM CT3:35 PM ET15:35 ET19:35 GMT3:35 CST12:35 PM MST2:35 PM EST3:05 PM VEN23:35 UAE2:35 PM CT-Castro was 2 for 4 with two doubles in the Astros' 5-4 loss to the Yankees on Wednesday.
Analysis: Castro is riding an eight-game hitting streak, going 13 for 30 (.433) with six doubles. He was hitting just .207 but has seen the streak raise his average to .284 in less than two weeks.
Apr. 7 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 CST2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Castro went 2 for 4 with three RBIs in a 6-3 loss to Houston on Saturday.
Analysis: Castro also clubbed his first home run. He hadn't homered or knocked in a run over his first four games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Hou 67 195 26 40 8 1 2 8 22 41 0 0 .205 .286 .287
2012 Hou 87 257 29 66 15 2 6 29 31 61 0 0 .257 .334 .401
2013 Hou 120 435 63 120 35 1 18 56 50 130 2 1 .276 .350 .485
2014 Hou 11 39 4 7 0 1 2 4 3 11 0 0 .179 .289 .385
Career 285 926 122 233 58 5 28 97 106 243 2 1 .252 .330 .416

Postseason


126 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.