MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#52
Tanner Scheppers
ERA W-L K
9.00 0-1 17
Team: TexasHt / Wt: 6-4 / 200
Position: SPBorn: 1/17/1987 Birthplace: Mission Viejo, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Rangers (2009)


Latest News
June 11 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Scheppers is going back on the disabled list because of right elbow inflammation less than a week after a return from the same problem.
Analysis: Scheppers, who became a starter in the spring and got the opening day nod because of an injury to Yu Darvish, went back to the bullpen when he returned and made four appearances in six games. The 27-year-old Scheppers missed a month and a half with the original elbow problem after making four starts. He is 0-1 with 9.00 ERA.
May 20 4:35 PM PT5:35 PM MT6:35 PM CT7:35 PM ET19:35 ET23:35 GMT7:35 4:35 PM MST6:35 PM EST7:05 PM VEN3:35 UAE (+1)6:35 PM CT-Robbie Ross and Scheppers are going back to the Texas Rangers bullpen after abbreviated stints as starters.
Analysis: General manager Jon Daniels also said Tuesday that Scheppers, who was the team's opening day starter, will be a reliever again when he comes off the disabled list. Scheppers was 0-1 with a 9.82 ERA in four starts before going on the DL on April 18 with right elbow inflammation. He could be back in about two weeks. Scheppers is scheduled to begin a rehab assignment Saturday with Double-A Frisco on May 25.
Apr. 18 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Texas Rangers right-hander Tanner Scheppers has been recalled from an injury rehab assignment. Scheppers had been on the disabled list since April 18 with right elbow inflammation.
Analysis: In four starts before going on the disabled list, Scheppers was 0-1 with a 9.82 ERA. He was 6-2 with a 1.88 ERA pitching primarily in the eighth inning last season, when his 76 appearances were the most ever for a Texas right-hander.
Apr. 13 9:35 AM PT10:35 AM MT11:35 AM CT12:35 PM ET12:35 ET16:35 GMT0:35 9:35 AM MST11:35 AM EST12:05 PM VEN20:35 UAE11:35 AM CT-Scheppers allowed five runs in six innings with seven strikeouts. Every run he gave up was in the fourth.
Analysis: Scheppers, making his third career start since transitioning this season from short relief, was victimized by the big inning for the second time this season. He faces the M's next time out.
Apr. 1 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Scheppers became the first pitcher to make their first career start on Opening Day since Fernando Valenzuela in 1981, but was shelled, allowing eight hits and seven runs in Monday's loss to Philadelphia.
Analysis: Scheppers' first act in his transition from the bullpen to the rotation was about as bad as it could possibly be, but he'll get a chance to redeem himself in his next scheduled start Sunday at Tampa Bay.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Tex 1 1 1 - 1 39 0 0 32.1 47 18 16 6 9 3 30 1.73 4.45
2013 Tex 6 2 1 - 3 76 0 0 76.2 58 21 16 6 24 4 59 1.07 1.88
2014 Tex 0 1 0 - 0 8 4 0 23.0 31 24 23 6 10 0 17 1.78 9.00
Career 7 4 2 - 4 123 4 0 132.0 136 63 55 18 43 7 106 1.36 3.75


Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 313 98 91 94.1 75.24
Slider 81 87 78 82.1 19.47
Changeup 22 90 86 87.9 5.29

w10 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.