MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#49
Chris Sale
ERA W-L K
2.87 6-4 141
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-6 / 180 NFBC ADP: 25.92
Position: SPBorn: 3/30/1989 Birthplace: Lakeland, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by White Sox (2010)


Latest News
June 30 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Sale has struck out at least 10 for the eighth straight game, matching the best run in major league history.
Analysis: Sale finished with 12 strikeouts in the Chicago White Sox's 2-1 win in 11 innings Tuesday night at St. Louis. Pedro Martinez also struck out 10 in eight straight starts in 1999 for Boston.
June 25 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Sale struck out 10 Wednesday but took his fourth loss after giving up six runs - five earned - and nine hits over 6 2-3 innings of a 6-1 loss at Minnesota.
Analysis: Sale has now struck out 10-plus batters in seven straight starts, totaling 85 over 52 innings in that span.
June 20 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Sale's brilliant start resulted in no decision Friday.
Analysis: Sale retired the first 17 batters and matched a season-high with 14 strikeouts while pitching two-hit ball over eight innings before closer David Robertson choked in the ninth inning.
June 9 11:46 AM PT12:46 PM MT1:46 PM CT2:46 PM ET14:46 ET18:46 GMT2:46 11:46 AM MST1:46 PM EST2:16 PM VEN22:46 UAE1:46 PM CT-Sale won his third straight start Monday against Houston, striking out 14 while limiting the Astros to one run over eight innings in the 3-1 victory.
Analysis: Sale has been virtually untouchable during his winning streak, yielding only one run over 22 2-3 innings with 39 strikeouts.
June 4 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Sale struck out a season-high 13 in seven shutout innings and the Chicago White Sox beat the Texas Rangers 9-2 on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Sale (5-2, 3.27 ERA) retired the final 14 hitters he faced while extending his scoreless streak to 19 2-3 innings.
May 29 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Sale dazzled in Thursday's first game of a doubleheader.
Analysis: Sale dominated the Orioles in the opener, setting a season high with 12 strikeouts, allowing four hits and no walks. He has 40 Ks in his last four starts.
May 19 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Sale allowed one run in eight innings of Chicago's 10-inning win over Cleveland on Monday.
Analysis: Sale has gone eight innings in back-to-back starts, striking out 18 and giving up three runs.
Apr. 25 10:07 AM PT11:07 AM MT12:07 PM CT1:07 PM ET13:07 ET17:07 GMT1:07 10:07 AM MST12:07 PM EST12:37 PM VEN21:07 UAE12:07 PM CT-Sale has dropped his appeal of a five-game suspension for his actions during an April 23 brawl with the Kansas City Royals.
Analysis: Sale allowed five runs and seven hits Wednesday against Detroit and started serving the penalty Thursday. If there are not any postponements, he would be eligible to rejoin the active roster for the May 12 game against Milwaukee.
Apr. 13 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Sale was impressive in his season debut Sunday, striking out eight while yielding one run and five hits over six innings in a 6-2 victory versus Minnesota.
Analysis: Coming off a broken right foot suffered this spring, Sale simply looked like one of the most dominant pitchers in baseball, as he has been for the past few years.
Mar. 21 11:33 AM PT12:33 PM MT1:33 PM CT2:33 PM ET14:33 ET18:33 GMT2:33 11:33 AM MST1:33 PM EST2:03 PM VEN22:33 UAE12:33 PM CT-Sale threw a bullpen session and says he's making progress while recovering from a broken foot.
Analysis: He threw from the mound on Friday, just three weeks after injuring his foot. Sale says he hopes to be back soon - maybe the second week of the regular season. Sale says he started throwing against a wall on one knee just four days after the broken foot was diagnosed on Feb. 27, but he needs to work on the other aspects of the game before he can return.
Feb. 28 10:34 AM PT11:34 AM MT12:34 PM CT1:34 PM ET13:34 ET18:34 GMT2:34 11:34 AM MST1:34 PM EST2:04 PM VEN22:34 UAE12:34 PM CT-Sale will miss the start of the season because of a broken foot.
Analysis: Sale, who was injured Feb. 27 in an accident at home, was expected to miss the April 6 opener in Kansas City but the team made it official on Wednesday. He will not resume baseball activities for at least 10 more days. White Sox executive vice president Ken Williams told MLB Network on Wednesday that the team was taking Sale on "a little slower road" rather than rush him back in time for the opener.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 CWS 2 1 4 - 4 21 0 0 23.1 15 5 5 2 10 0 32 1.07 1.93
2011 CWS 2 2 8 - 10 58 0 0 71.0 52 22 22 6 27 3 79 1.11 2.79
2012 CWS 17 8 0 - 1 30 29 1 192.0 167 66 65 19 51 5 192 1.14 3.05
2013 CWS 11 14 0 - 0 30 30 4 214.1 184 81 73 23 46 2 226 1.07 3.07
2014 CWS 12 4 0 - 0 26 26 2 174.0 129 48 42 13 39 2 208 0.97 2.17
2015 CWS 6 4 0 - 0 15 15 0 103.1 78 36 33 8 22 0 141 0.97 2.87
Career 50 33 12 - 15 180 100 7 778.0 625 258 240 71 195 12 878 1.05 2.78

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 CWS 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 CWS 26 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 CWS 15 6 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .167 .167 .167
Career 180 11 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .091 .091 .091


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 903 99 86 94 55.5
Slider 270 85 72 79.1 16.59
Changeup 454 90 79 84.7 27.9

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.