MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#11
Darwin Barney
AVG HR RBI
.230 2 16
Team: LA DodgersHt / Wt: 5-10 / 186 NFBC ADP: 596.91
Position: 2BBorn: 11/8/1985 Birthplace: Portland, Oregon
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 4th Round by Cubs (2007)


Latest News
July 28 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-The Los Angeles Dodgers have acquired Barney in a trade with the Chicago Cubs.
Analysis: Barney won a Gold Glove in 2012 after tying the major league single-season record with 141 consecutive errorless games. But he was designated for assignment last Tuesday after hitting .230 with 16 RBIs in 72 games this season.
July 22 4:51 PM PT5:51 PM MT6:51 PM CT7:51 PM ET19:51 ET23:51 GMT7:51 4:51 PM MST6:51 PM EST7:21 PM VEN3:51 UAE (+1)6:51 PM CT-The Chicago Cubs took another step toward the future, designating Barney for assignment.
Analysis: The 28-year-old Barney won a Gold Glove in the 2012, when his 141 consecutive games without an error tied a major league record. But he regressed noticeably at the plate and, with the recent promotion of Arismendy Alcantara and other infield prospects on the way, he no longer fit the master plan.
July 20 11:22 AM PT12:22 PM MT1:22 PM CT2:22 PM ET14:22 ET18:22 GMT2:22 11:22 AM MST1:22 PM EST1:52 PM VEN22:22 UAE1:22 PM CT-Barney had two hits Saturday.
Analysis: Barney is a .230 hitter with little future in the big leagues.
July 11 3:10 PM PT4:10 PM MT5:10 PM CT6:10 PM ET18:10 ET22:10 GMT6:10 3:10 PM MST5:10 PM EST5:40 PM VEN2:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-The Chicago Cubs activated Barney from the paternity list and recalled left-handed reliever Zac Rosscup from Triple-A Iowa.
Analysis: Barney is hitting .224 with two home runs and 16 RBIs for the Cubs this season.
July 9 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-The Chicago Cubs are giving one of their prospects a chance to spend a couple of days in the majors, promoting second baseman Arismendy Alcantara while infielder Darwin Barney is on paternity leave.
Analysis: When Barney returns, Alcantara will go back to the minors. Barney is batting .224 with 10 doubles, one triple, two homers and 16 RBIs in 70 games.
July 3 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Barney matched a career high with four hits in Wednesday's 16-9 win at Boston.
Analysis: Barney's four hits matched his total from the previous eight games, a stretch during which he went 4 for 25. He has very little fantasy value right now.
Feb. 6 11:32 AM PT12:32 PM MT1:32 PM CT2:32 PM ET14:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE1:32 PM CT-The Chicago Cubs have agreed to a $2.3 million, one-year contract with Barney, avoiding arbitration.
Analysis: A Gold Glove winner in 2012, Barney committed just four errors with a .993 fielding percentage last season. But he also batted .208.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 ChC 30 79 12 19 4 0 0 2 6 12 0 0 .241 .294 .291
2011 ChC 143 529 66 146 23 6 2 43 22 67 9 2 .276 .313 .353
2012 ChC 156 548 73 139 26 4 7 44 33 58 6 1 .254 .299 .354
2013 ChC 141 501 49 104 25 1 7 41 36 64 4 2 .208 .266 .303
2014 ChC 72 204 18 47 10 2 2 16 9 31 1 0 .230 .265 .328
Career 542 1861 218 455 88 13 18 146 106 232 20 5 .244 .290 .335

Postseason


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.