MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#44
Kyle Gibson
ERA W-L K
4.47 13-12 107
Team: MinnesotaHt / Wt: 6-6 / 220 NFBC ADP: 603.92
Position: SPBorn: 10/23/1987 Birthplace: Greenfield, Indiana
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Twins (2009)


Latest News
Aug. 4 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Gibson earned his 10th win in a 16-3 road victory over the White Sox on Sunday.
Analysis: Gibson's season continues to be an up-and-down affair. He's given up three or more runs in four of his last seven starts but has also limited opponents to two or fewer in the three other outings.
July 30 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Gibson recorded his ninth win of the season Tuesday, striking out seven over seven scoreless innings of two-hit ball in a 2-1 victory at Kansas City.
Analysis: Gibson has been somewhat inconsistent - after all he was coming off an outing in which he gave up six runs - but he's 5-3 over his last nine games with a 3.44 ERA.
July 23 11:49 PM PT12:49 AM MT1:49 AM CT2:49 AM ET2:49 ET6:49 GMT14:49 11:49 PM MST1:49 AM EST2:19 AM VEN10:49 UAE1:49 AM CT-Gibson has been scratched from Wednesday's start against Cleveland due to lower back stiffness.
Analysis: Gibson, 8-8 with a 4.19 ERA, will be replaced by Anthony Swarzak. Manager Ron Gardenhire says team doctors told him Gibson's back felt tight after throwing in the bullpen and then it locked up.
July 10 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Gibson was impressive in Wednesday's 8-1 win at Seattle, allowing seven hits over six shutout innings.
Analysis: Gibson is 4-2 with a 3.23 ERA over his last seven starts.
July 5 10:57 AM PT11:57 AM MT12:57 PM CT1:57 PM ET13:57 ET17:57 GMT1:57 10:57 AM MST12:57 PM EST1:27 PM VEN21:57 UAE12:57 PM CT-Gibson had another short and ineffective outing in Friday's 6-5 loss to the New York Yankees.
Analysis: Gibson (7-7, 4.17 ERA) lasted just two innings for the second time in three starts, this time at home, and was charged with six runs and six hits. He previously held the AL's best home ERA among qualifying pitchers at 1.54.
June 30 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Gibson matched a career high by going eight innings in a 3-2 win over Texas on Sunday.
Analysis: Gibson (7-6, 3.77 ERA) gave up two runs after getting tagged for seven in two innings of an 8-6 loss at the Los Angeles Angels on June 24. Despite that poor effort, the right-hander is 3-1 with a 2.61 ERA in his last five starts.
June 19 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Gibson allowed just one hit while striking out eight in seven scoreless innings of Wednesday's loss to Boston.
Analysis: He's strung together 21 scoreless innings over his last three starts while holding opponents to a .125 average.
June 14 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Gibson scattered five hits over seven innings in a 2-0 win at Detroit on Friday.
Analysis: Gibson hasn't given up a run while allowing eight hits over 14 innings to win his last two starts.
June 8 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Gibson allowed three hits over seven innings in an 8-0 win over Houston on Saturday.
Analysis: Gibson has been outstanding at home, going 4-1 with a 1.54 ERA in six starts at Target Field.
May 11 9:48 AM PT10:48 AM MT11:48 AM CT12:48 PM ET12:48 ET16:48 GMT0:48 9:48 AM MST11:48 AM EST12:18 PM VEN20:48 UAE11:48 AM CT-Gibson was rocked by the Tigers on Saturday.
Analysis: Gibson allowed six runs in two innings. "I just got behind too many guys, and then you have to come in over the plate," Gibson said. "You can't do that against a team like Detroit. They are a pretty good team when you have to throw the ball down the middle." He faces the M's next.
May 6 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Gibson scattered two hits over seven innings in Monday's 1-0, 10-inning win at Cleveland.
Analysis: While Gibson has allowed one or zero runs in four of his six starts thus far, he's yielded a combined 12 in the other two.
Apr. 23 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Gibson came crashing back down to Earth in his first loss of the season Tuesday against the Rays.
Analysis: Gibson was shelled, yielding seven runs and 10 hits over three innings. Hopefully you already sold high on Gibson as pitchers with nearly identical walk and strikeout numbers - Gibson has issued 11 walks compared to 13 strikeouts - are rarely able to sustain success.
Apr. 18 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Gibson won his third straight start Thursday against Toronto, yielding four hits over eight shutout innings.
Analysis: After a rough first 10 career major league starts last season, Gibson has been impressive with a 0.93 ERA through three outings this year.
Apr. 12 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Gibson improved to 2-0 with a solid start Friday against Kansas City, surrendering a run and five hits over 6 1-3 innings.
Analysis: Gibson did walk four batters for the second straight start, though it hasn't seriously cost him yet.
Apr. 6 10:38 AM PT11:38 AM MT12:38 PM CT1:38 PM ET13:38 ET17:38 GMT1:38 10:38 AM MST12:38 PM EST1:08 PM VEN21:38 UAE12:38 PM CT-Gibson limited Cleveland to one run in his season debut and led Minnesota to a 7-3 win over the Cleveland Indians on Saturday, giving Twins manager Ron Gardenhire his 1,000th career victory.
Analysis: Gibson allowed three hits in five-plus innings as the Twins snapped a seven-game losing streak against the Indians. Gibson made 10 starts as a rookie last season, and the Twins are counting on the 25-year-old to do more after giving him the fifth spot in the rotation. The right-hander worked around four walks - two in the third, when he escaped a big inning by getting Nick Swisher to ground into a double play.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Min 2 4 0 - 0 10 10 0 51.0 69 38 37 7 20 0 29 1.75 6.53
2014 Min 13 12 0 - 0 31 31 0 179.1 178 91 89 12 57 0 107 1.31 4.47
Career 15 16 0 - 0 41 41 0 230.1 247 129 126 19 77 0 136 1.41 4.92

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Min 31 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 41 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1754 95 86 91.3 62.64
Curveball 96 83 77 80.2 3.43
Slider 602 88 80 84.4 21.5
Changeup 348 87 80 83.1 12.43

127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.