MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#6
Starling Marte
AVG HR RBI
.291 13 56
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-1 / 184 NFBC ADP: 55.17
Position: LFBorn: 10/9/1988 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Pirates (2007)


Latest News
Sep. 27 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Marte matched a career high by extending his hit streak to 12 games Saturday in a 10-6 loss in 10 innings to Cincinnati.
Analysis: Marte, batting .292, is 17 for 49 (.347) with three doubles, two homers and six RBIs during his streak. He's hit .363 while batting safely in 22 of his last 24 contests.
Sep. 26 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Marte extended his hit streak to 10 games by going 2 for 5 with a two-run double in a 10-1 rout of Atlanta on Thursday night.
Analysis: Marte, now batting .293, is 15 for 40 (.375) during his streak. He's hit .385 (30 for 78) with six doubles, four homers and 12 RBIs in 21 games this month.
Sep. 24 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Marte had two hits, including the go-ahead double in the sixth inning, as the surging Pittsburgh Pirates clinched a spot in the playoffs with a 3-2 win over the free-falling Atlanta Braves on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Marte has hit .370 (27 for 73) with five doubles, four homers and 10 RBIs while batting safely in 18 of his last 20 games.
Sep. 17 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Marte went 2 for 4 with a dinger Tuesday.
Analysis: Marte is hitting .405 in his last 12 games for the Bucs, who are charging hard toward yet another playoff appearance.
Sep. 12 9:57 PM PT10:57 PM MT11:57 PM CT12:57 AM ET0:57 ET4:57 GMT12:57 9:57 PM MST11:57 PM EST12:27 AM VEN8:57 UAE11:57 PM CT-Marte played for the first time since he was removed Thursday with left elbow discomfort.
Analysis: Marte entered as a defensive replacement in the eighth.
Sep. 9 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Marte continued his torrid stretch, going 3 for 5 with a home run, double, and two RBIs in a 6-4 win at Philadelphia on Monday.
Analysis: Marte is batting .353 over an eight-game hitting streak and is 7 for 16 in his last three games.
Aug. 19 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Marte went 3 for 4 with two home runs and a double in Monday's loss to Atlanta.
Analysis: Over 10 games, Marte is batting .405 with three homers, a triple, four doubles and eight RBIs.
Aug. 12 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Marte went 2 for 4 with a triple and three RBIs in Monday's 11-6 win at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Marte is 5 for 11 over his last three games.
July 24 11:53 PM PT12:53 AM MT1:53 AM CT2:53 AM ET2:53 ET6:53 GMT14:53 11:53 PM MST1:53 AM EST2:23 AM VEN10:53 UAE1:53 AM CT-Marte was activated from the seven-day concussion disabled list Tuesday.
Analysis: Marte had been out since July 22. He is hitting .255 with five home runs and 21 stolen bases in 86 games.
July 19 11:24 AM PT12:24 PM MT1:24 PM CT2:24 PM ET14:24 ET18:24 GMT2:24 11:24 AM MST1:24 PM EST1:54 PM VEN22:24 UAE1:24 PM CT-Marte tripled and drove in two runs before leaving late in the game shortly after taking a fastball to the head Friday.
Analysis: Manager Clint Hurdle called the decision to remove Marte "precautionary" and he will be re-evaluated on Saturday.
July 9 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-The Pirates placed Marte on the bereavement list on Wednesday.
Analysis: Marte is batting .256 with 40 runs and 32 RBIs in 83 games.
June 24 6:30 PM PT7:30 PM MT8:30 PM CT9:30 PM ET21:30 ET1:30 GMT9:30 6:30 PM MST8:30 PM EST9:00 PM VEN5:30 UAE (+1)8:30 PM CT-Pittsburgh Pirates manager Clint Hurdle said left fielder Starling Marte cleared a concussion test Wednesday and was feeling "much better" one day after leaving Tuesday night's game in the fifth inning with concussion-like symptoms.
Analysis: Marte was hurt after a head-first slide during a failed stolen base attempt. He made contact with Rays second baseman Sean Rodriguez on the play. Hurdle says Marte, who has a swollen finger on his right hand, was not available for Wednesday's game.
June 23 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Marte has rejoined the team after missing two games tending to a personal matter at home in the Dominican Republic.
Analysis: Marte was batting second in the Pirates' lineup for Monday night's game against Tampa Bay.
June 21 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-The Pirates will be without Marte for a couple days while the speedy outfielder attends to a personal matter in his native Dominican Republic.
Analysis: Manager Clint Hurdle says he thinks Marte will be back in time for Monday night's game at Tampa Bay. Jose Tabata got the start in left for Saturday night's game at the Chicago Cubs.
June 14 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Marte had another big game with four hits - including his fifth home run - in Friday's 8-6, 13-inning win at Miami.
Analysis: Following a terrible slump, Marte has gone 12 for 23 over his last five games.
May 18 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Marte left with tightness in his left hamstring during Pittsburgh's doubleheader with the New York Yankees on Sunday.
Analysis: The Pirates outfielder thought he might be ready for Tuesday's series opener against Baltimore.
May 18 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Marte went 3 for 3 with a home run and double in a 7-1 loss at Yankee Stadium on Saturday.
Analysis: Marte was 1 for 10 over his previous four games.
May 11 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE11:44 PM CT-Marte left the game Saturday for pinch-hitter Gaby Sanchez in bottom of the fourth inning because of lower back stiffness.
Analysis: His status going forward is uncertain.
May 3 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Marte's walkoff homer sent Pittsburgh home with a 6-5 win over Toronto on Friday.
Analysis: Marte finished the night with a career high-tying four hits. He has raised his average 36 points to .265 after going 7 for his last 12.
Apr. 16 8:19 AM PT9:19 AM MT10:19 AM CT11:19 AM ET11:19 ET15:19 GMT23:19 8:19 AM MST10:19 AM EST10:49 AM VEN19:19 UAE10:19 AM CT-Marte is 2 for 9 with six strikeouts in the first two games of a series vs. the Reds.
Analysis: Marte has struck out 23 times - one behind former Pirate Garrett Jones for the highest total in the majors.
Apr. 9 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Marte scored three runs Tuesday.
Analysis: Marte has hit safely in nine straight at Wrigley Field (15 for 36) and has stolen 11 bases. Start him up Wednesday versus Jason Hammel.
Mar. 26 9:53 AM PT10:53 AM MT11:53 AM CT12:53 PM ET12:53 ET16:53 GMT0:53 9:53 AM MST11:53 AM EST12:23 PM VEN20:53 UAE10:53 AM CT-Marte and the Pittsburgh Pirates have completed their $31 million, six-year contract.
Analysis: Marte hit .280 with 12 homers, 35 RBIs and a team-high 41 steals last year, his first full season in the majors.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Pit 47 167 18 43 3 6 5 17 8 50 12 5 .257 .300 .437
2013 Pit 135 510 83 143 26 10 12 35 25 138 41 15 .280 .343 .441
2014 Pit 135 495 73 144 29 6 13 56 33 131 30 11 .291 .356 .453
Career 317 1172 174 330 58 22 30 108 66 319 83 31 .282 .342 .445

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 6 24 2 3 1 0 1 1 1 5 1 0 .125 .192 .292
    LDS 5 19 1 1 0 0 1 1 1 5 1 0 .053 .143 .211
    WC 1 5 1 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .400 .400 .600
2014 Pit Total 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    WC 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 7 28 2 4 1 0 1 1 1 6 1 0 .143 .200 .286


127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.