MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#45
Gerrit Cole
ERA W-L K
3.85 10-5 118
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-4 / 240 NFBC ADP: 88.72
Position: SPBorn: 9/8/1990 Birthplace: Newport Beach, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Pirates (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 19 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Cole allowed two runs in seven-plus innings in a 3-2 victory over Boston on Thursday and won a season-high third consecutive start.
Analysis: Cole (10-5, 3.85 ERA) has benefited from a combined 19 runs of support in his three games. He has a 3.79 ERA in that stretch along with 21 strikeouts and one walk in 19 innings.
Sep. 1 10:58 AM PT11:58 AM MT12:58 PM CT1:58 PM ET13:58 ET17:58 GMT1:58 10:58 AM MST12:58 PM EST1:28 PM VEN21:58 UAE12:58 PM CT-The Pirates recalled Cole from rookie-level Bristol.
Analysis: Cole will start Monday's game against St. Louis.
Aug. 20 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-The Pittsburgh Pirates have activated Gerrit Cole from the 15-day disabled list and will start him right away against Atlanta. Cole came off the DL on Wednesday night to face the Braves.
Analysis: Cole was put on the disabled list for the second time this season on July 9 because of soreness in his right lat. He also was out for three weeks in June because of right shoulder soreness. The overall No. 1 pick from the 2011 draft is 7-4 with a 3.78 ERA in 14 starts.
July 8 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Pittsburgh manager Clint Hurdle told the team's website that Cole is expected to make another rehab start after struggling Tuesday at Triple-A Indianapolis.
Analysis: Cole, on the disabled list with a strained lat, gave up five runs and 10 hits in 4 1-3 innings. He was also on the DL in June with shoulder fatigue.
July 5 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Cole was dominant in his second start since coming off the disabled list, allowing just a hit and a walk over five shutout innings in Friday's 8-2 win over the Phillies.
Analysis: Cole is 4-1 in his last six starts with a 3.82 ERA.
June 29 9:57 AM PT10:57 AM MT11:57 AM CT12:57 PM ET12:57 ET16:57 GMT0:57 9:57 AM MST11:57 AM EST12:27 PM VEN20:57 UAE11:57 AM CT-The New York Mets spoiled Cole's return from the disabled list in a 5-3 win Saturday.
Analysis: Cole, who leads the Pirates in victories, lasted just four innings. Activated from the DL earlier Saturday, he was tagged for five runs and seven hits. Cole (6-4, 4.02 ERA) had been out since June 4 with right shoulder fatigue.
June 8 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Cole rejoined the rotation Saturday against the New York Mets after being sidelined by right shoulder fatigue.
Analysis: Cole was out since June 4.
May 8 12:03 PM PT1:03 PM MT2:03 PM CT3:03 PM ET15:03 ET19:03 GMT3:03 12:03 PM MST2:03 PM EST2:33 PM VEN23:03 UAE2:03 PM CT-Cole allowed three runs over a career high-tying eight innings to beat San Francisco 4-3 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Cole is now 2-0 with a 3.21 ERA at home. He's 1-2 with a 4.26 mark on the road.
Apr. 26 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Cole fell to 2-2 on Friday with a tough-luck loss against the Cardinals.
Analysis: Cole gave up just one run and six hits over seven innings, but wasn't backed with any support. He owns a 3.18 ERA through five outings.
Apr. 16 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Cole suffered his first fantasy loss Tuesday.
Analysis: Cole had won his last six starts but allowed five runs in six innings and will face the Brewers in his next outing.
Apr. 11 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-Cole fanned 10 over six innings in a 5-4 win against the Chicago Cubs on Thursday.
Analysis: Cole (2-0, 3.46 ERA) also allowed four runs - three earned - along with five hits and two walks.
Apr. 5 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Cole was strong in his first outing of the season, limiting the Cardinals to two runs and six hits over seven innings in Friday's 12-2 victory.
Analysis: Both the runs against Cole came on Matt Carpenter's fifth-inning homer.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Pit 10 7 0 - 0 19 19 0 117.1 109 43 42 7 28 0 100 1.17 3.22
2014 Pit 10 5 0 - 0 20 20 0 124.0 119 55 53 11 38 1 118 1.27 3.85
Career 20 12 0 - 0 39 39 0 241.1 228 98 95 18 66 1 218 1.22 3.54

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit 19 34 3 7 0 0 0 5 1 14 0 0 .206 .229 .206
2014 Pit 21 41 3 8 0 0 1 2 2 15 0 0 .195 .233 .268
Career 40 75 6 15 0 0 1 7 3 29 0 0 .200 .231 .240

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.0 5 3 3 2 2 0 10 2.45
    LDS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.0 5 3 3 2 2 0 10 2.45
Career 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.0 5 3 3 2 2 0 10 2.45

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 2 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 2 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 2 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1322 100 89 95.5 66.77
Curveball 325 87 79 83.7 16.41
Slider 231 91 82 86.7 11.67
Changeup 102 91 83 86.7 5.15

127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.