MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Yoenis Cespedes
.291 35 105
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 5-10 / 210 NFBC ADP: 62.96
Position: LFBorn: 10/18/1985 Birthplace: Campechuela, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Athletics (2012)

Latest News
Nov. 1 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET4:20 GMT12:20 9:20 PM MST11:20 PM EST11:50 PM VEN8:20 UAE10:20 PM CT-Cespedes was taken out of Sunday's Game 5 of the World Series after fouling a pitch off his left knee.
Analysis: The New York Mets center fielder was replaced by Juan Lagares in the seventh inning. Cespedes managed to complete his at-bat in the sixth, popping out to the shortstop, even after he was sent to the ground by the shot to his knee.
Oct. 21 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Cespedes was in Tuesday's starting lineup.
Analysis: Cespedes left Wednesday's NL Championship Series finale at Chicago in the middle of the second inning. The slugger had the injection on Thursday and was told not to participate in baseball activities for 24 hours, Mets spokesman Jay Horwitz said. Cespedes was not at Friday's voluntary workout at Citi Field.
Oct. 13 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Cespedes went 3 for 5 with a long home run in Monday's win.
Analysis: His three-run homer in the fourth inning gave him long balls in back-to-back NLDS games.
Oct. 1 11:02 PM PT12:02 AM MT1:02 AM CT2:02 AM ET2:02 ET6:02 GMT14:02 11:02 PM MST1:02 AM EST1:32 AM VEN10:02 UAE1:02 AM CT-Cespedes was back in the lineup Saturday.
Analysis: Cespedes was suffering from finger contusions.
Sep. 22 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Cespedes was 3 for 4 with his 40th and 41st doubles Monday against Atlanta.
Analysis: Cespedes had hit .087 over his previous seven games, though he was due for a cold stretch given the tear that he had been on.
Sep. 15 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Cespedes went deep for the 35th time Monday against Miami.
Analysis: Cespedes has been All-World this month, batting .382 with nine homers and 19 RBIs in 13 games.
Sep. 13 10:45 AM PT11:45 AM MT12:45 PM CT1:45 PM ET13:45 ET17:45 GMT1:45 10:45 AM MST12:45 PM EST1:15 PM VEN21:45 UAE12:45 PM CT-The Mets left slugger Yoenis Cespedes out of the starting lineup Sunday for just the second time since he was acquired from Detroit on July 31.
Analysis: Cespedes had declined manager Terry Collins' offer for extra rest Saturday night, then changed his mind. Cespedes hit his eighth homer in 11 games and drove in two runs as the NL-East leading Mets beat Atlanta for their sixth straight win.
Sep. 12 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Cespedes had another huge game Friday, finishing a triple shy of the cycle and collecting three RBIs against Atlanta.
Analysis: He's now batting a torrid .413 with seven homers and 16 RBIs in 10 September games. Since joining the Mets at the July 31 trade deadline, Cespedes has produced a 1.040 OPS with 15 homers and 39 RBIs in 38 games.
Sep. 10 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Cespedes was 2 for 4 with his 32nd home run Wednesday at Washington.
Analysis: Cespedes is hitting .432 with six home runs in his last eight games and owns a 1.032 OPS with 36 RBIs in 36 contests for the Mets.
Sep. 9 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Cespedes drove in three runs Tuesday.
Analysis: Cespedes has 34 RBIs in 35 games with New York.
Sep. 8 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Cespedes hit his fifth homer in six games this month and had a pair of doubles in an 8-5 win over Washington on Monday.
Analysis: Cespedes has 13 homers in 34 games for the Mets since coming over in a trade with Detroit on July 31. He had 18 homers in 102 games for the Tigers. Cespedes is 13 for 28 (.464) with nine extra-base hits in September.
Sep. 7 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Cespedes homered for the fourth time in five games Sunday.
Analysis: Cespedes is 10 for 23 (.435) over his last five. He's been an absolute terror on the road lately, ripping eight homers with 18 RBIs in his last 10 road contests.
Sep. 5 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Cespedes homered for the third consecutive game and tripled in Friday's 6-5 loss in 11 innings in Miami.
Analysis: Cespedes' two-run shot was his 11th homer in 31 games for the New York Mets. He had 18 in 102 games for Detroit. Cespedes is 7 for 15 with five extra-base hits in his first three contests this month.
Sep. 3 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Cespedes went 3 for 5 with a solo homer in a 9-4 win over Philadelphia on Wednesday.
Analysis: Cespedes has 10 homers in 30 games with the New York Mets.
Sep. 2 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Cespedes was 2 for 4 with a triple and a home run in Tuesday's 14-8 loss to the Phillies.
Analysis: Cespedes had been 2 for 17 over his previous five contests, but still owns an impressive .916 OPS through 29 games for the Mets.
Aug. 28 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Cespedes homered again Thursday, providing a two-run shot in a 9-5 win in 13 innings against Philadelphia.
Analysis: Cespedes has six homers and 15 RBIs in the New York Mets' seven-game win streak while batting .361 (13 for 36).
Aug. 26 12:23 PM PT1:23 PM MT2:23 PM CT3:23 PM ET15:23 ET19:23 GMT3:23 12:23 PM MST2:23 PM EST2:53 PM VEN23:23 UAE2:23 PM CT-Cespedes hit his fifth homer in as many games Tuesday at Philadelphia.
Analysis: Cespedes, who is up to 25 homers on the year, is hitting .306 with seven home runs and 20 RBIs in 22 games with the Mets.
Aug. 25 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Cespedes was 2 for 5 with his 24th homer Monday at Philadelphia.
Analysis: Cespedes is 9 for 20 with four homers and 10 RBIs in his last four games.
Aug. 21 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Cespedes has hit three home runs for the Mets, including a grand slam Friday against the Colorado Rockies.
Analysis: The power display began with a slam off rookie Jon Gray in the Mets' 6-run second inning. He led off the fourth with his second homer, this one off reliever Christian Bergman and his third, a two-run shot off Christian Friedrich, snapped an 8-8 tie in the sixth. The seven RBIs represented a career-high for Cespedes. They are also the third most RBIs in a game by a Mets player in team history. Carlos Delgado holds the team record with 9.
Aug. 15 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE2:28 PM CT-Cespedes was 3 for 5 with a home run in Friday's loss to Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Cespedes has homered twice in his last three games and is batting .327 in his last 11 games.
Aug. 9 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)6:46 PM CT-Cespedes went 2 for 4 in Saturday's 5-4 loss Tampa Bay.
Analysis: He's hitting .300 with three doubles and five RBIs in seven games with the Mets.
Aug. 4 10:55 AM PT11:55 AM MT12:55 PM CT1:55 PM ET13:55 ET17:55 GMT1:55 10:55 AM MST12:55 PM EST1:25 PM VEN21:55 UAE12:55 PM CT-Cespedes had his best day as a Met on Monday, hitting three doubles and driving in four runs in a 12-1 win at Miami.
Analysis: Cespedes is 4 for 12 in his three games with New York.
July 31 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-The Mets have acquired Cespedes from Detroit Friday in their strongest attempt yet to boost a punchless lineup that threatened to derail their postseason hopes.
Analysis: Cespedes hit .293 with 18 home runs with 61 RBIs in 102 games with the Tigers this season.
July 11 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Cespedes went deep in Friday's loss in Minnesota.
Analysis: The slugger has homered in three of five games and is batting .382 in his last seven.
July 8 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Cespedes appears to be swinging the bat well, hitting his 12th home in Tuesday's 7-6 loss at Seattle.
Analysis: He's homered in his last two games and is 7 for 20 (.350) over his last four.
June 23 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Cespedes was a triple short of a cycle Monday at Cleveland, hitting his 10th home run and 21st double.
Analysis: Cespedes is batting .390 over his last 15 games.
June 17 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Cespedes extended his hit streak to 10 games in a 5-2 loss to Cincinnati on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Cespedes, seventh in the AL with a .309 average, is 17 for 39 (.436) during his streak.
June 16 5:44 PM PT6:44 PM MT7:44 PM CT8:44 PM ET20:44 ET0:44 GMT8:44 5:44 PM MST7:44 PM EST8:14 PM VEN4:44 UAE (+1)7:44 PM CT-Cespedes was 2 for 4 with his 19th double Monday versus Cincinnati.
Analysis: Cespedes has caught fire during a nine-game hitting streak, going 16 for 35 (.457).
June 14 9:59 AM PT10:59 AM MT11:59 AM CT12:59 PM ET12:59 ET16:59 GMT0:59 9:59 AM MST11:59 AM EST12:29 PM VEN20:59 UAE11:59 AM CT-Cespedes was 3 for 5 on Saturday.
Analysis: Cespedes is shining brightly with 13 hits in his last 27 at-bats.
June 11 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Cespedes hit a three-run shot Wednesday.
Analysis: Cespedes is up to 33 RBIs.
June 8 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Cespedes capped a strong series Sunday.
Analysis: Cespedes was 3 for 4 with a dinger and ravaged Chicago pitching with seven hits in 15 at-bats.
June 7 9:49 AM PT10:49 AM MT11:49 AM CT12:49 PM ET12:49 ET16:49 GMT0:49 9:49 AM MST11:49 AM EST12:19 PM VEN20:49 UAE11:49 AM CT-Cespedes was 2 for 4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Cespedes is 4 for 9 in the series.
June 6 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Cespedes was 2 for 5 on Friday.
Analysis: Cespedes has a .800 OPS but there is something about him that doesn't meet the fantasy smell test.
June 4 11:17 AM PT12:17 PM MT1:17 PM CT2:17 PM ET14:17 ET18:17 GMT2:17 11:17 AM MST1:17 PM EST1:47 PM VEN22:17 UAE1:17 PM CT-Cespedes has left Detroit's game against Oakland with flu-like symptoms.
Analysis: Cespedes struck out in the second inning Thursday in his only at-bat, then was replaced in left field by Daniel Fields, who made his major league debut. Cespedes is hitting .285 with seven homers and 28 RBIs this season.
May 31 12:27 PM PT1:27 PM MT2:27 PM CT3:27 PM ET15:27 ET19:27 GMT3:27 12:27 PM MST2:27 PM EST2:57 PM VEN23:27 UAE2:27 PM CT-Cespedes hit his seventh home run Saturday against the Angels.
Analysis: Cespedes ran his RBI count to 28 with Saturday's solo shot.
May 28 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Cespedes homered with two outs in the fifth inning to break a scoreless tie against his former team and six Detroit pitchers combined on an six-hitter to lead the Tigers to a 3-2 win over the Oakland Athletics on Wednesday.
Analysis: Cespedes hit a three-run home run off Oakland reliever Dan Otero and singled. He's 11 for 28 (.393) in his last eight games.
May 25 12:43 PM PT1:43 PM MT2:43 PM CT3:43 PM ET15:43 ET19:43 GMT3:43 12:43 PM MST2:43 PM EST3:13 PM VEN23:43 UAE2:43 PM CT-Cespedes was 2 for 4 with his 16th double Sunday against the Astros.
Analysis: Cespedes is 14 for 38 (.368) with four doubles over his last 10 games.
May 22 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Cespedes was 3 for 3 in Thursday's win over Houston.
Analysis: Cespedes is 6 for 6 with two doubles and three walks in the last two games.
May 16 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Cespedes was 3 for 5 with a home run, double and three RBIs in Friday's win in St. Louis.
Analysis: Cespedes had been 5 for 35 over his previous nine games and seen his average dip from .310 to .267.
Apr. 28 12:42 PM PT1:42 PM MT2:42 PM CT3:42 PM ET15:42 ET19:42 GMT3:42 12:42 PM MST2:42 PM EST3:12 PM VEN23:42 UAE2:42 PM CT-Cespedes could be entering another hot streak after finishing with a home run, a double and three RBIs in Monday's 5-4 win at Minnesota.
Analysis: Cespedes is batting .303 with four homers on the season, but he had been 2 for 13 without an extra-base hit over his previous four games.
Apr. 20 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Cespedes hit a grand slam and a two-run homer, helping the Tigers rout the Chicago White Sox 9-1 on Sunday.
Analysis: It was the first major league grand slam for Cespedes, and both his home runs came off Jose Quintana. Cespedes is now 6 for 8 with four home runs against Quintana for his career. His three homers this season have come in his last three games.
Apr. 11 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Cespedes had three hits in an 8-4 victory over Cleveland on Friday.
Analysis: Cespedes is now 8 for 18 in his first four games with the Detroit Tigers.
Apr. 7 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Cespedes enjoyed a bright Tigers debut Monday.
Analysis: Cespedes doubled, tripled and scored twice in his Detroit debut on a 51-degree day at Comerica Park.
Mar. 12 11:19 AM PT12:19 PM MT1:19 PM CT2:19 PM ET14:19 ET18:19 GMT2:19 11:19 AM MST1:19 PM EST1:49 PM VEN22:19 UAE12:19 PM CT-Cespedes left Thursday's game against the Philadelphia Phillies with tightness in the front of his left thigh.
Analysis: Cespedes hit 22 home runs last season for the Oakland Athletics and Boston Red Sox. Detroit acquired him in a trade during the offseason.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
2012 Oak 129 487 70 142 25 5 23 82 43 102 16 4 .292 .356 .505
2013 Oak 135 529 74 127 21 4 26 80 37 137 7 7 .240 .294 .442
2014 Oak 101 399 62 102 26 3 17 67 28 80 3 2 .256 .303 .464
2014 Bos 51 201 27 54 10 3 5 33 7 48 4 0 .269 .296 .423
2014 Tot 152 600 89 156 36 6 22 100 35 128 7 2 .260 .301 .450
2015 Det 102 403 62 118 28 2 18 61 19 87 3 4 .293 .323 .506
2015 NYM 57 230 39 66 14 4 17 44 14 54 4 1 .287 .337 .604
2015 Tot 159 633 101 184 42 6 35 105 33 141 7 5 .291 .328 .542
Career 575 2249 334 609 124 21 106 367 148 508 37 18 .271 .319 .486


Hitting Statistics
2012 Oak Total 5 19 1 6 1 0 0 2 2 2 2 0 .316 .381 .368
    LDS 5 19 1 6 1 0 0 2 2 2 2 0 .316 .381 .368
2013 Oak Total 5 21 3 8 1 1 1 4 0 4 0 0 .381 .409 .667
    LDS 5 21 3 8 1 1 1 4 0 4 0 0 .381 .409 .667
2015 NYM Total 14 54 7 12 1 0 2 8 1 17 1 0 .222 .232 .352
    LDS 5 20 4 5 0 0 2 4 0 8 0 0 .250 .250 .550
    LCS 4 14 2 4 1 0 0 3 1 3 1 0 .286 .333 .357
    WS 5 20 1 3 0 0 0 1 0 6 0 0 .150 .143 .150
Career 24 94 11 26 3 1 3 14 3 23 3 0 .277 .303 .426

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.