MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#9
Jean Segura
AVG HR RBI
.246 5 31
Team: MilwaukeeHt / Wt: 5-10 / 204 NFBC ADP: 37.62
Position: SSBorn: 3/17/1990 Birthplace: San Juan, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Angels (2007)


Latest News
Sep. 6 6:44 PM PT7:44 PM MT8:44 PM CT9:44 PM ET21:44 ET1:44 GMT9:44 6:44 PM MST8:44 PM EST9:14 PM VEN5:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Segura went 3 for 4 with two runs scored in Friday's 6-2 win over St. Louis.
Analysis: Segura had been 1 for 17 over his previous six games.
July 12 12:10 PM PT1:10 PM MT2:10 PM CT3:10 PM ET15:10 ET19:10 GMT3:10 12:10 PM MST2:10 PM EST2:40 PM VEN23:10 UAE2:10 PM CT-Segura is returning home to the Dominican Republic after the death of his 9-month old son.
Analysis: The team broke the news to Segura after Friday night's game, a 7-6 loss to the St. Louis Cardinals. He was placed on the bereavement list Saturday. Segura's mother attended Friday's game and told several of the wives of Brewers players. And they told Segura.
May 31 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Segura had three hits and an RBI in an 11-5 win over the Cubs on Friday.
Analysis: Segura is starting to heat up with a .368 average over his last eight games.
May 23 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Segura had three hits in Thursday's loss to Atlanta.
Analysis: The Milwaukee shortstop is batting .325 in his last 11 games to boost his average 20 points to .262.
May 17 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Segura went 3 for 5 with two RBIs in Friday's win over the Chicago Cubs.
Analysis: Segura hasn't exactly been hitting the cover off the ball, but he does have his average (.261) over .260 for the first time in over a month.
May 6 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Segura had two hits Monday.
Analysis: Segura is hitting .196 at home entering Tuesday night vs. the lowly D-Backs.
Apr. 26 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Outfielder Ryan Braun and Segura are out of Milwaukee's lineup for the third straight game because of injuries.
Analysis: Manager Ron Roenicke was hopeful Segura might be able to play Wednesday. He was recovering from being hit in the face while Braun was swinging a bat in the dugout. Segura took batting practice indoors, played catch and took grounders.
Apr. 24 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Segura went 2 for 3 with a three-run homer in Wednesday's 5-2 win over San Diego.
Analysis: Segura's long ball was his first of the season, but hopefully this is a sign of things to come. He's slugging just .341 thus far.
Apr. 6 12:47 PM PT1:47 PM MT2:47 PM CT3:47 PM ET15:47 ET19:47 GMT3:47 12:47 PM MST2:47 PM EST3:17 PM VEN23:47 UAE2:47 PM CT-Segura had three hits in Milwaukee's 7-6 win in 11 innings Saturday in Boston.
Analysis: Segura was 1 for 12 (.083) in his first three games this season.
Mar. 31 12:13 PM PT1:13 PM MT2:13 PM CT3:13 PM ET15:13 ET19:13 GMT3:13 12:13 PM MST2:13 PM EST2:43 PM VEN23:13 UAE2:13 PM CT-Segura is starting the Brewers' opener Monday against the Atlanta Braves after missing the last two weeks of spring training because of a sore right shoulder.
Analysis: Manager Ron Roenicke says he'll keep a close watch on Segura during the first week of the season and may not play Segura every day. Segura tested the shoulder the previous few days. Both Segura and Roenicke say the infielder may not be at 100 percent.
Mar. 28 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Segura says his sore right shoulder is feeling better, though it's unclear whether the All-Star shortstop will be ready when the season starts next week.
Analysis: Segura missed eight straight spring training games entering Friday night's exhibition contest against Kansas City at Miller Park. Segura fielded grounders during one portion of pregame warmups but didn't make any throws to first. He says he did do some light throwing and is making progress. Manager Ron Roenicke says he'll monitor Segura over the next two days with the hope that his shortstop will be ready for Monday's opener against Atlanta. The team will need to decide by Sunday, when rosters are due. The 24-year-old Segura hit .294 with 12 homers and 44 steals last season.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 LAA 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Mil 44 148 19 39 4 3 0 14 13 21 7 1 .264 .321 .331
2012 Tot 45 151 19 39 4 3 0 14 13 23 7 1 .258 .315 .325
2013 Mil 146 588 74 173 20 10 12 49 25 84 44 13 .294 .329 .423
2014 Mil 146 513 61 126 14 6 5 31 28 70 20 9 .246 .289 .326
Career 337 1252 154 338 38 19 17 94 66 177 71 23 .270 .311 .371

Postseason


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.