MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#23
Jarred Cosart
ERA W-L K
3.69 13-11 115
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-3 / 196 NFBC ADP: 414.71
Position: SPBorn: 5/25/1990 Birthplace: League City, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 38th Round by Phillies (2008)


Latest News
Aug. 31 12:29 PM PT1:29 PM MT2:29 PM CT3:29 PM ET15:29 ET19:29 GMT3:29 12:29 PM MST2:29 PM EST2:59 PM VEN23:29 UAE2:29 PM CT-Cosart scattered seven hits in seven innings of work in Saturday's 4-0 win over the Braves.
Analysis: The right-hander has pitched well since joining the Marlins, going 3-1 with a 1.64 ERA in five starts.
Aug. 26 8:34 AM PT9:34 AM MT10:34 AM CT11:34 AM ET11:34 ET15:34 GMT23:34 8:34 AM MST10:34 AM EST11:04 AM VEN19:34 UAE10:34 AM CT-Cosart allowed one run and scattered seven hits over 7 2-3 innings in Monday's 7-1 win over the Los Angeles Angels.
Analysis: Cosart has seemed to find his groove, going 2-0 with an 0.87 ERA over his last three starts.
Aug. 6 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Cosart has been scratched from his next start because of a strained oblique muscle. Rookie left-hander Brian Flynn will start in Cosart's place Thursday night at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Cosart felt discomfort in his side while playing catch Wednesday and the Marlins decided to have him skip a start. He is tentatively scheduled to pitch next Tuesday against St. Louis.
July 31 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Cosart has been traded by the Houston Astros to the Miami Marlins in a six-player deal.
Analysis: Cosart is 9-7 with a 4.41 ERA in 20 starts this year but has struggled lately, allowing 21 runs in 21 1-3 innings over four starts in July.
July 27 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE12:26 PM CT-Cosart dropped to 9-7 on Saturday night.
Analysis: Cosart allowed five runs and seven hits with four strikeouts and four walks in 5 2-3 innings. The right-hander has struggled in July, allowing 21 runs in 21 1-3 innings over four starts. He faces the Jays next in a major test.
July 8 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)4:55 PM CT-Cosart won despite pitching poorly Monday.
Analysis: Cosart won for the first time in 12 career starts against AL West opponents despite allowing nine hits and six runs - five earned - in five innings. He'll face the BoSox in his next outing.
June 27 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Matt Dominguez broke out of a slump with a three-run home run and rookie George Springer also homered to back up seven strong innings by Cosart in the Houston Astros' 6-1 victory over the Atlanta Braves on Thursday.
Analysis: Cosart (8-5, 3.60 ERA) allowed six hits and a run in his fourth straight victory. He has a 2.25 ERA during his win streak and is 7-2 with a 3.00 ERA in his past nine starts.
Apr. 24 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Cosart didn't record a decision despite a solid showing Wednesday against Seattle.
Analysis: Cosart gave up two runs and four hits over 6 2-3 innings, but walks continue to be an issue. He issued three free passes and has walked 13 batters in 25 innings over five starts.
Apr. 19 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Cosart was shelled in Friday's loss to Oakland, retiring just one batter while surrendering a career-worst seven runs.
Analysis: If you're desperate for pitching, you may want to buy low on Cosart. He did post a 4.00 ERA through his first three starts against solid offensive clubs (New York Yankees, Angels, Rangers).
Apr. 13 9:34 AM PT10:34 AM MT11:34 AM CT12:34 PM ET12:34 ET16:34 GMT0:34 9:34 AM MST11:34 AM EST12:04 PM VEN20:34 UAE11:34 AM CT-Cosart shut down Texas after allowing three runs in the first four innings, limiting the Rangers to six hits while striking out a career-high eight in seven innings Saturday night.
Analysis: Cosart faces the A's in his next outing.
Apr. 8 3:10 PM PT4:10 PM MT5:10 PM CT6:10 PM ET18:10 ET22:10 GMT6:10 3:10 PM MST5:10 PM EST5:40 PM VEN2:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Cosart was tagged with the loss Monday after allowing five runs and three hits over six innings against the Angels.
Analysis: After issuing no walks in his season debut, Cosart walked four batters Monday, perhaps reverting to his 2013 form as he averaged 5.25 walks per nine innings last season.
Apr. 3 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Cosart tossed five shutout innings while allowing just four hits to get the win against the Yankees on Wednesday.
Analysis: Cosart might not get sufficient run support from Houston this season for a solid win-loss record, but he could still be a sleeper after posting a 1.95 ERA in 60 innings in 2013.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Hou 1 1 0 - 0 10 10 0 60.0 46 15 13 3 35 0 33 1.35 1.95
2014 Hou 9 7 0 - 0 20 20 0 116.1 119 61 57 7 51 1 75 1.46 4.41
2014 Mia 4 4 0 - 0 10 10 0 64.0 54 19 17 2 22 0 40 1.19 2.39
2014 Tot 13 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 180.1 173 80 74 9 73 1 115 1.36 3.69
Career 14 12 0 - 0 40 40 0 240.1 219 95 87 12 108 1 148 1.36 3.26

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Hou 20 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Mia 10 18 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .222 .222 .222
2014 Tot 30 21 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .190 .190 .190
Career 40 21 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .190 .190 .190

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 2131 98 89 93.5 69.73
Curveball 794 83 75 78.7 25.98
Changeup 131 87 79 83 4.29

127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.