MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#52
Michael Wacha
ERA W-L K
2.69 15-4 134
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-6 / 210 NFBC ADP: 143.43
Position: SPBorn: 7/1/1991 Birthplace: Iowa City, Iowa
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Cardinals (2012)


Latest News
Aug. 29 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Wacha was charged with four unearned runs in six innings Friday and did not get a decision in a 5-4 loss in San Francisco.
Analysis: Wacha (15-4, 2.69 ERA) is 4-0 with a 0.92 ERA in his last six starts.
Aug. 24 10:12 AM PT11:12 AM MT12:12 PM CT1:12 PM ET13:12 ET17:12 GMT1:12 10:12 AM MST12:12 PM EST12:42 PM VEN21:12 UAE12:12 PM CT-Wacha moved into a tie for the MLB wins lead with a 10-3 victory in San Diego on Sunday.
Analysis: Wacha (15-4, 2.80 ERA) gave up one run in six innings and is 4-0 with a 1.09 ERA in his last five starts.
Aug. 18 9:32 AM PT10:32 AM MT11:32 AM CT12:32 PM ET12:32 ET16:32 GMT0:32 9:32 AM MST11:32 AM EST12:02 PM VEN20:32 UAE11:32 AM CT-Wacha yielded a run with six strikeouts over seven innings Monday against San Francisco.
Analysis: Wacha didn't get a decision after winning his previous three starts, but he's posted a 1.00 ERA over his last four outings. His 14 wins are tied for the MLB lead.
Aug. 7 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Wacha earned his 13th win of the season with seven scoreless innings Thursday at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Wacha hasn't allowed a run over 14 innings in winning his last two starts. He's now 13-4 with a 2.92 ERA and 112 strikeouts this season.
June 28 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Wacha earned an 8-1 win over the Chicago Cubs on Saturday.
Analysis: Wacha (10-3, 2.77 ERA) gave up one run in six innings. The right-hander, now tied for second in the majors in victories, has alternated losses and wins in his last six starts.
June 22 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-Wacha took his third lost Sunday at Philadlephia after giving up a season-high five runs in five innings of a 9-2 defeat.
Analysis: Wacha has alternated wins and losses over his last six starts while posting a 3.82 ERA.
June 17 11:13 AM PT12:13 PM MT1:13 PM CT2:13 PM ET14:13 ET18:13 GMT2:13 11:13 AM MST1:13 PM EST1:43 PM VEN22:13 UAE1:13 PM CT-Wacha bounced back from his second loss of the season with a 3-2 win over Minnesota on Tuesday.
Analysis: Wacha (9-2, 2.48 ERA) yielded two runs and three hits in 6 1-3 innings against the Twins after giving up four runs and nine hits in 6 2-3 innings in a 4-3 loss in Colorado on June 9.
June 10 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Wacha lost for the second time in three starts Tuesday, giving up four runs over 6 2-3 innings of a 4-3 defeat at Colorado.
Analysis: Wacha has eight quality starts in 12 outings this year, but he's failed to go six innings with three runs or fewer three times in his last six.
June 5 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Wacha pitched seven effective innings, and the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-1 on Thursday night in the opener of a four-game series between the National League's top two teams.
Analysis: Wacha (8-1, 2.18 ERA) allowed a run and seven hits without walking a batter and had five strikeouts, five days after the Dodgers beat him 5-1 at St. Louis in a game that was delayed more than 2 hours by rain. This was the right-hander's first road start against the Dodgers, whom he defeated twice in the 2013 NL championship series while shutting them out in 13 2-3 innings. Wacha became the first Cardinal to begin a season 6-0 on the road since 2005.
May 31 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Wacha took his first loss of the season Saturday night with a 5-1 defeat to the Los Angeles Dodgers.
Analysis: Wacha (7-1, 2.27 ERA) gave up four runs and three hits in 5 2-3 innings. He had entered tied for the league lead in victories and among the best with a 1.87 ERA.
May 25 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE2:53 PM CT-Wacha pitched seven sparkling innings for his seventh straight win, and the Cardinals stopped a three-game losing streak with a 6-1 victory over the Kansas City Royals on Sunday.
Analysis: Wacha allowed an unearned run and five singles against the majors' best-hitting team, lowering his ERA to 1.87 in nine starts. He is the first Cardinals pitcher to start 7-0 since Matt Morris won his first eight decisions in 2005. "He was very good," Cardinals manager Mike Matheny said.
May 20 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Wacha beat the New York Mets on Tuesday and now has a 2.13 ERA in eight starts.
Analysis: Wacha (6-0) gave up a two-run homer to Murphy in seven innings of four-hit ball to join the Mets' Bartolo Colon and Seattle's Felix Hernandez for most wins in the majors. The six wins are a career high for the 23-year-old right-hander.
Apr. 12 5:46 PM PT6:46 PM MT7:46 PM CT8:46 PM ET20:46 ET0:46 GMT8:46 5:46 PM MST7:46 PM EST8:16 PM VEN4:46 UAE (+1)7:46 PM CT-Wacha won Saturday against the Reds, limiting them to one run on a solo shot over 6 1-3 innings.
Analysis: Wacha gave up five hits and walked one batter, striking out two.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 StL 4 1 0 - 1 15 9 0 64.2 52 20 20 5 19 0 65 1.10 2.78
2014 StL 5 6 0 - 0 19 19 0 107.0 95 41 38 6 33 0 94 1.20 3.20
2015 StL 15 4 0 - 0 25 25 0 157.1 137 53 47 12 40 3 134 1.13 2.69
Career 24 11 0 - 1 59 53 0 329.0 284 114 105 23 92 3 293 1.14 2.87

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL 15 21 0 3 0 0 0 3 0 10 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2014 StL 19 29 1 1 0 0 0 2 0 18 0 0 .034 .034 .034
2015 StL 25 46 5 7 1 0 0 4 3 17 1 0 .152 .204 .174
Career 59 96 6 11 1 0 0 9 3 45 1 0 .115 .141 .125

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 StL Total 4 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 30.2 16 9 9 3 12 3 33 2.64
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 1 1 1 1 2 0 9 1.23
    LCS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.2 7 0 0 0 2 1 13 0.00
    WS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.2 8 8 8 2 8 2 11 7.45
2014 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 2 3 3 1 1 0 0 81.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 2 3 3 1 1 0 0 81.00
Career 4 2 0 - 0 6 5 0 31.0 18 12 12 4 13 3 33 3.48

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL Total 5 7 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 2 5 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 6 7 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1384 98 90 94.2 56.31
Curveball 305 80 72 75.7 12.41
Changeup 422 91 82 86.5 17.17
Cut Fastball 347 93 85 89.2 14.12

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.