MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Carlos Martinez
ERA W-L K
2.91 13-6 156
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-0 / 185 NFBC ADP: 280.45
Position: SPBorn: 9/21/1991 Birthplace: Puerto Plata, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Cardinals (2010)


Latest News
Aug. 31 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Martinez has been scratched from his scheduled start on Tuesday with a sore back. Left-hander Marco Gonzales will be recalled from Triple-A Memphis to make the start against Washington.
Analysis: Cardinals manager Mike Matheny said Martinez is expected to miss just one start, adding ''We've had our eyes open looking for a time to get him some rest.''
Aug. 28 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Martinez earned a 5-3 victory over Arizona on Thursday.
Analysis: Martinez (13-6, 2.91 ERA) gave up three runs in six innings. He was 1-2 with a 4.91 ERA in his prior five starts and had lost in each of his previous two.
July 26 12:33 PM PT1:33 PM MT2:33 PM CT3:33 PM ET15:33 ET19:33 GMT3:33 12:33 PM MST2:33 PM EST3:03 PM VEN23:33 UAE2:33 PM CT-Martinez continues to shine for the Cardinals, allowing six hits over eight innings in Saturday's 1-0 win over the Braves.
Analysis: Martinez is a ridiculous 8-2 with a 1.13 ERA in his last 11 starts.
July 10 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-Martinez is going to the All-Star Game as the winner of the NL final fan vote.
Analysis: Martinez surged ahead of Reds pitcher Johnny Cueto late in the voting to become the sixth Cardinals player to make the NL roster. Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw, Colorado shortstop Troy Tulowitzki and Mets closer Jeurys Familia were also in contention.
July 10 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Martinez put together another strong outing Thursday, allowing four hits over 7 1-3 scoreless innings in a 4-1 win at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Martinez is 7-1 with a 1.20 ERA over his last 10 starts.
June 29 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Martinez held the Cubs to one run in six innings Sunday in a 4-1 victory, winning for the fifth time in six starts.
Analysis: Martinez has been lights out over the last month-plus for the Cardinals, going 6-1 with a 1.35 ERA in his last eight outings.
June 18 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Martinez lost for the first time in six starts Wednesday, giving up two runs - one earned - and five hits over 6 2-3 innings of a 3-1 defeat at Minnesota.
Analysis: Though he lost Wednesday, it wasn't due to a poor performance. Martinez has been a huge boon for the Cardinals' rotation, going 4-2 with a 1.19 ERA in his last seven outings.
June 11 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Martinez pitched efficiently into the seventh inning for a fifth straight start, helping the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Colorado Rockies 4-2 on Wednesday to avoid a series sweep.
Analysis: Martinez gave his owners a huge bonus with two hits at the plate.
June 6 10:33 AM PT11:33 AM MT12:33 PM CT1:33 PM ET13:33 ET17:33 GMT1:33 10:33 AM MST12:33 PM EST1:03 PM VEN21:33 UAE12:33 PM CT-Martinez outpitched Brett Anderson again during their second low-scoring duel in six days, and the St. Louis Cardinals scratched across a pair of runs in the eighth inning to beat the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Friday night.
Analysis: Martinez (6-2, 2.94 ERA) allowed his only run in the second on a bases-loaded walk to Joc Pederson, ending his scoreless streak at 21 1-3 innings. The right-hander gave up three hits and had a career-high 11 strikeouts in seven innings to the Dodgers. Last Sunday, Martinez held them to one hit over seven innings and struck out eight in a 3-1 victory over Anderson, which followed an emotional tribute to Martinez's late teammate Oscar Taveras.
June 1 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Martinez earned his fifth victory Sunday against the Dodgers with another scoreless outing, allowing just one hit over seven innings of a 3-1 win.
Analysis: Martinez is 2-0 over his last three starts, throwing 20 1-3 scoreless innings.
May 26 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Martinez put together another strong start Monday against the Diamondbacks, throwing seven scoreless innings in the club's 3-2 win, though he wasn't able to earn a victory himself.
Analysis: Martinez is 4-2 with a 3.54 ERA through nine starts.
Apr. 25 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Martinez dazzled with eight strikeouts in seven scoreless innings Friday.
Analysis: The Cardinals pitching staff is an embarrassment of riches, as Martinez' strong start is only the latest in a long string of dominance. He is 2-0 with a 1.42 ERA as a starter this season.
Mar. 30 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-The St. Louis Cardinals have picked Carlos Martinez as their fifth starter. Cardinals manager Mike Matheny made the announcement about the rotation on Monday.
Analysis: The 23-year-old Martinez went 2-4 with a 4.03 ERA in 57 games for the NL Central champions last year. The right-hander made seven starts.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 StL 2 1 1 - 1 21 1 0 28.1 31 16 16 1 9 1 24 1.41 5.08
2014 StL 2 4 1 - 6 57 7 0 89.1 90 41 40 4 36 8 84 1.41 4.03
2015 StL 13 6 0 - 0 26 24 0 154.2 142 55 50 12 54 4 156 1.27 2.91
Career 17 11 2 - 7 104 32 0 272.1 263 112 106 17 99 13 264 1.33 3.50

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL 21 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 StL 57 12 0 3 0 0 0 2 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2015 StL 27 48 2 7 1 0 0 0 1 21 0 0 .146 .180 .167
Career 105 62 2 10 1 0 0 2 1 26 0 0 .161 .188 .177

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 12 0 0 12.2 7 5 5 0 3 1 11 3.55
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.0 1 2 2 0 1 0 2 9.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.2 1 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 6.0 5 3 3 0 1 1 5 4.50
2014 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 3 1 1 0 4 0 2 1.93
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 0 1 1 0 1 0 1 6.75
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 3 0 0 0 3 0 1 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 16 0 0 16.2 10 6 6 0 7 1 13 3.24


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1383 100 89 95.1 57.24
Curveball 96 86 77 82.7 3.97
Slider 527 89 79 85.1 21.81
Changeup 410 91 79 86.7 16.97

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.