MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#12
Juan Lagares
AVG HR RBI
.281 4 47
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-1 / 215 NFBC ADP: 521.66
Position: CFBorn: 3/17/1989 Birthplace: Constanza, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mets (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 16 6:09 PM PT7:09 PM MT8:09 PM CT9:09 PM ET21:09 ET1:09 GMT9:09 6:09 PM MST8:09 PM EST8:39 PM VEN5:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Lagares has left New York's game against the Miami Marlins before the start of the fifth inning because of a hyperextended right elbow.
Analysis: Lagares appeared to be injured in the fourth inning Tuesday night when he fielded Jarrod Saltalamacchia's sinking liner on a short hop and quickly came up throwing to force out Garrett Jones at second base. Lagares could be seen wincing on television replays. Kirk Nieuwenhuis replaced Lagares in center field.
June 2 6:12 PM PT7:12 PM MT8:12 PM CT9:12 PM ET21:12 ET1:12 GMT9:12 6:12 PM MST8:12 PM EST8:42 PM VEN5:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Lagares has been activated from the 15-day disabled list by the New York Mets and is in the starting lineup, batting sixth, for Thursday night's game against the Pittsburgh Pirates.
Analysis: Lagares had been out since June 2 with a right ribcage strain. He was hitting .295 with two home runs in 43 games when injured. Lagares went a combined 2 for 16 on a rehab assignment in the rookie-level Coast League and with Double-A Binghamton.
May 22 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Lagares went 3 for 5 with a triple in a 4-3 loss to the Dodgers on Wednesday.
Analysis: Lagares is 6 for 13 with four RBIs in his last three games.
May 18 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-New York Mets manager Terry Collins is tired of talking about Lagares' playing time. The center fielder was left out of the starting lineup four times in a stretch of five games last week, raising eyebrows because of Lagares' fine play this season. Collins, however, has four outfielders he wants to get regular at-bats, so someone is the odd man out each night.
Analysis: Lagares was in a 5-for-27 slide at the plate when he returned to the starting lineup Saturday. He had a huge game against Washington with a home run, three RBIs and a leaping catch at the wall to rob Jayson Werth of a homer. Asked before Sunday's game what Lagares needed to do to become an everyday player, Collins bristled, saying Lagares has been an everyday player and reporters were getting "a little carried away."
May 18 12:31 PM PT1:31 PM MT2:31 PM CT3:31 PM ET15:31 ET19:31 GMT3:31 12:31 PM MST2:31 PM EST3:01 PM VEN23:31 UAE2:31 PM CT-Lagares went 2 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs in a 5-2 win at Washington on Saturday.
Analysis: Lagares had been 5 for 27 with no homers and two RBIs over his previous 11 games.
May 16 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Lagares is headed back to the team's outfield.
Analysis: Manager Terry Collins started an outfield of Eric Young, Curtis Granderson and Bobby Abreu on Friday night, and said Lagares, out of the lineup for the fourth time in five games, will play Saturday. Lagares is hitting .296, but is 5 for 27 (.185) in his last 10 games.
May 5 11:13 AM PT12:13 PM MT1:13 PM CT2:13 PM ET14:13 ET18:13 GMT2:13 11:13 AM MST1:13 PM EST1:43 PM VEN22:13 UAE1:13 PM CT-Lagares stayed hot with three more hits in Sunday's win at Colorado.
Analysis: Lagares has hit safely in all but one of his first 17 games, going 24 for 71 (.338) with 11 runs and nine RBIs.
May 2 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Lagares went 2 for 4 on Thursday.
Analysis: Lagares has emerged with a .865 OPS for the Mets.
Apr. 15 9:14 PM PT10:14 PM MT11:14 PM CT12:14 AM ET0:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE11:14 PM CT-The New York Mets have placed Lagares on the 15-day disabled list with a pulled right hamstring and recalled outfielder Kirk Nieuwenhuis from Triple-A Las Vegas.
Analysis: Lagares was injured while beating out a double-play ball Monday night in New York's 7-3 win over Arizona. An outstanding defender, Lagares had performed well in an everyday role after Chris Young went down with a strained quadriceps at the beginning of the season. Lagares was leading the Mets with a .314 batting average and a nine-game hitting streak.
Apr. 1 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Lagares was 2 for 4 with a homer, walked and scored three runs in Monday's loss to Washington.
Analysis: Lagares looked comfortable batting from the leadoff spot, which he only hit from seven times as a rookie in 2013.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 NYM 121 392 35 95 21 5 4 34 20 96 6 3 .242 .281 .352
2014 NYM 116 416 46 117 24 3 4 47 20 87 13 4 .281 .321 .382
Career 237 808 81 212 45 8 8 81 40 183 19 7 .262 .302 .368

Postseason


127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.