MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#40
Alex Wood
ERA W-L K
2.83 10-10 156
Team: AtlantaHt / Wt: 6-4 / 215 NFBC ADP: 231.73
Position: SPBorn: 1/12/1991 Birthplace: Charlotte, North Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 2nd Round by Braves (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 1 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Wood earned his 10th victory in Sunday's 1-0 win over Miami.
Analysis: The left-hander allowed five hits and struck out 12 in eight innings. He's 3-1 with a 2.04 ERA and .185 opponents' batting average in his last five starts.
July 31 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Wood was outstanding Wednesday.
Analysis: Wood gave up one run and six hits in seven innings. He struck out eight and walked two. He faces the M's next.
July 21 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Wood improved to 7-7 overall on Sunday. He allowed three hits and one run with eight strikeouts in six innings to win for the first time four starts.
Analysis: 'Woody', who returned to Atlanta's rotation on June 25 after pitching nearly seven weeks in relief, improved to 4-6 with a 2.95 ERA in 12 starts this year.
July 7 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Wood allowed two runs on only three hits and three walks in seven innings Sunday.
Analysis: Wood should be able to win his next start, Friday at Wrigley Field against the lowly Cubs.
June 26 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Wood recorded his sixth win of the season Wednesday, limiting Houston to three hits over seven innings.
Analysis: Wood is 3-5 with a 2.60 ERA in eight starts this year, compared to 3-1 with a 4.70 ERA in 11 relief appearances.
June 20 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Wood will take Gavin Floyd's spot in the Atlanta Braves rotation, the latest pitching shuffle for manager Fredi Gonzalez in the aftermath of Floyd's unusual elbow injury.
Analysis: Gonzalez said Friday that Wood will start Wednesday's game against the Houston Astros. Wood was recently sent down to Triple-A Gwinnett to prepare for being a starter, a move that has proved to be prescient given Floyd's injury.
June 10 6:29 PM PT7:29 PM MT8:29 PM CT9:29 PM ET21:29 ET1:29 GMT9:29 6:29 PM MST8:29 PM EST8:59 PM VEN5:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-The Atlanta Braves activated Jordan Walden from the 15-day disabled list before Tuesday night's game against the Colorado Rockies and optioned Wood to Triple-A Gwinnett.
Analysis: Wood was 5-6 with a 3.43 ERA in 18 appearances and six starts for Atlanta.
May 9 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Wood is being moved to the bullpen by the Braves, for at least for a week. He was scheduled to start Sunday against the Chicago Cubs but instead will become Atlanta's second left-handed reliever in addition to Luis Avilan. Aaron Harang will make Sunday's start.
Analysis: Wood (2-5, 3.00 ERA) will be back in the rotation on May 17 against St. Louis. Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez says he'll take another look at his rotation in a week. Mike Minor and Gavin Floyd have returned from the disabled list to assume starting spots. That left the Braves with a surplus of starters, even after rookie David Hale was sent to the bullpen. Wood posted 2.08 ERA in 20 games as a reliever in 2013. He was 3-3 with a 3.13 ERA in 31 total appearances.
Apr. 30 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Wood endured one of the worst outings of his young career Tuesday against Miami in his fourth loss of the season.
Analysis: The left-hander was shelled for seven runs and 10 hits over five innings, causing his ERA to jump from 1.54 to 2.93.
Apr. 23 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Wood took his third loss in four starts Tuesday against the Marlins despite a strong performance.
Analysis: Receiving zero runs of support for the second straight outing, Wood limited Miami to a run and four hits over eight innings while striking out a career-high 11.
Apr. 18 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Wood fell to 2-2 Thursday despite limiting the Phillies to one run over eight innings.
Analysis: Wood looks spectacular with a 1.67 ERA through four starts and 24 strikeouts over 27 innings.
Apr. 13 5:42 PM PT6:42 PM MT7:42 PM CT8:42 PM ET20:42 ET0:42 GMT8:42 5:42 PM MST7:42 PM EST8:12 PM VEN4:42 UAE (+1)7:42 PM CT-Wood improved to 2-1 Saturday after limiting Washington to an earned run on six hits over five innings.
Analysis: Wood, who struck out eight, owns a 1.89 ERA through his first three starts.
Apr. 2 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Freddie Freeman hit a pair of solo home runs and Jason Heyward added a two-run shot to back a solid outing by Alex Wood and power the Atlanta Braves to a 5-2 victory over the Brewers on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Wood (1-0, 1.29 ERA) settled down after allowing a home run to Carlos Gomez on his first pitch. The left-hander yielded one run on five hits in seven innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Atl 3 3 0 - 0 31 11 0 77.2 76 29 27 3 27 1 77 1.33 3.13
2014 Atl 10 10 0 - 0 33 22 1 159.0 139 54 50 14 42 1 156 1.14 2.83
Career 13 13 0 - 0 64 33 1 236.2 215 83 77 17 69 2 233 1.20 2.93

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Atl 31 21 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 15 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Atl 33 37 1 3 0 0 0 2 2 24 0 0 .081 .128 .081
Career 64 58 2 3 0 0 0 2 2 39 0 0 .052 .083 .052

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Atl Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 3 4 0 1 0 0 3 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 3 4 0 1 0 0 3 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 3 4 0 1 0 0 3 0.00

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Atl Total 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    LDS 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
Career 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1477 93 86 89.8 59.65
Curveball 556 83 75 79.2 22.46
Changeup 443 87 80 82.5 17.89

126 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.