MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#30
Yordano Ventura
ERA W-L K
3.20 14-10 159
Team: Kansas CityHt / Wt: 6-0 / 180 NFBC ADP: 128.67
Position: SPBorn: 6/3/1991 Birthplace: Samana, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Royals (2008)


Latest News
Oct. 11 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Ventura has left Saturday's playoff game against the Orioles because of tightness in his pitching shoulder.
Analysis: Ventura was facing Caleb Joseph in the sixth inning when he winced and walked off the mound after throwing a pitch. After a quick visit from the Kansas City trainer, Ventura left the game and was replaced by Brandon Finnegan. Back in May, Ventura was led off the field by a trainer because of a sore elbow in the third inning of a start against Houston. An MRI exam at the time did not show any major damage, but Ventura missed his next scheduled start.
Sep. 29 9:59 AM PT10:59 AM MT11:59 AM CT12:59 PM ET12:59 ET16:59 GMT0:59 9:59 AM MST11:59 AM EST12:29 PM VEN20:59 UAE11:59 AM CT-Ventura gave up four runs over just four innings in Kansas City's 6-4 win over the White Sox on Sunday.
Analysis: Ventura's season ended on a somewhat sour note. He had been 7-2 with a 2.08 ERA over his previous 10 starts before Sunday.
Sep. 24 3:06 PM PT4:06 PM MT5:06 PM CT6:06 PM ET18:06 ET22:06 GMT6:06 3:06 PM MST5:06 PM EST5:36 PM VEN2:06 UAE (+1)5:06 PM CT-Ventura looked like 'Ace Ventura' on the mound Tuesday.
Analysis: The hard-throwing Ventura allowed four singles in seven innings and threw a 100 mph fastball on his 104th pitch for his 14th win.
Aug. 26 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Ventura will miss his next start due to soreness in his back, and Liam Hendricks will make his first start for the club Wednesday since arriving in a trade from Toronto.
Analysis: The emergence of Ventura has been one of the reasons Kansas City has climbed into first place in the AL Central. The hard-throwing rookie is 10-9 with a 3.40 ERA this season. Royals manager Ned Yost said he hopes that Ventura will only need to miss one start.
Aug. 1 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Ventura pitched seven effective innings as the Kansas City Royals defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-3 on Thursday.
Analysis: Ventura (8-8, 3.50 ERA) limited the Twins to two runs, one earned, on five hits, while striking out seven. He was 1-1 with a 6.75 ERA in his prior four starts.
July 26 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Ventura had another sub-par start in a no-decision in Friday's 6-4 win over Cleveland, allowing four runs - three earned - and six hits over 6 1-3 innings.
Analysis: Ventura owns a 7.47 ERA over his last three starts after posting a 3.07 ERA through his first 16 outings.
July 10 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Ventura threw five innings and gave up four runs - all on a grand slam - while taking a no-decision in Wednesday's 5-4 win at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Though Wednesday wasn't his best outing, Ventura has been solid this season with a 6-7 record and 3.28 ERA over his last 17 games.
July 5 10:30 AM PT11:30 AM MT12:30 PM CT1:30 PM ET13:30 ET17:30 GMT1:30 10:30 AM MST12:30 PM EST1:00 PM VEN21:30 UAE12:30 PM CT-Ventura pitched 8 1-3 stellar innings to help the Kansas City Royals beat the Cleveland Indians 7-1 on Friday night.
Analysis: Ventura (6-7, 3.07 ERA) blanked the Indians on four hits until Michael Brantley hit a leadoff homer in the ninth. The rookie right-hander was pulled after Jason Kipnis' one-out single. Ventura allowed six hits and struck out four in the longest outing of his career. He has yielded three runs in 21 innings in three career starts against Cleveland.
June 29 10:01 AM PT11:01 AM MT12:01 PM CT1:01 PM ET13:01 ET17:01 GMT1:01 10:01 AM MST12:01 PM EST12:31 PM VEN21:01 UAE12:01 PM CT-Ventura allowed two runs in four innings Saturday as he lost.
Analysis: His outing was cut short by rain.
May 26 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Ventura threw six innings in his return from a sore elbow, and the Kansas City Royals rallied to beat the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 Thursday night and end a string of eight straight home losses to their in-state rivals.
Analysis: Ventura (3-5) was skipped his previous time through the rotation because of minor elbow pain, but he looked sharp in his return. Ventura was forced to leave Kansas City's game against the Houston Astros on May 26.
May 11 12:01 PM PT1:01 PM MT2:01 PM CT3:01 PM ET15:01 ET19:01 GMT3:01 12:01 PM MST2:01 PM EST2:31 PM VEN23:01 UAE2:01 PM CT-Ventura fell to 2-2 with Saturday's 3-1 loss at Seattle.
Analysis: Ventura allowed three runs in 6 1-3 innings. The right-hander issued a season-high four walks, while notching a season-low three strikeouts. "You know, he threw the ball really well," Royals skipper Ned Yost said. The hurler will face the O's next.
May 6 9:22 AM PT10:22 AM MT11:22 AM CT12:22 PM ET12:22 ET16:22 GMT0:22 9:22 AM MST11:22 AM EST11:52 AM VEN20:22 UAE11:22 AM CT-Ventura extended his scoreless innings streak to 18 scoreless innings Monday before he gave up a homer.
Analysis: The right-hander allowed three runs, five hits, did not walk a batter and struck out a career-high 10 in six innings. Ventura provided a fantasy bonus as he collected his first major league hit with a sharp single leading off the fifth.
May 1 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Ventura was humming once again in five scoreless innings Wednesday.
Analysis: The Blue Jays struggled to catch up to the 22-year-old's triple-digit fastball, managing just two hits over five innings. But they were more successful at avoiding stuff off the plate, driving up his pitch count and forcing him from the game after five innings and 92 pitches.
Apr. 26 12:24 PM PT1:24 PM MT2:24 PM CT3:24 PM ET15:24 ET19:24 GMT3:24 12:24 PM MST2:24 PM EST2:54 PM VEN23:24 UAE2:24 PM CT-Ventura was lights out in Friday's 5-0 win at Baltimore.
Analysis: Ventura allowed seven hits - all singles - and struck out eight over eight scoreless innings for the longest outing of his brief career. The hard-throwing right-hander appears to be the real deal.
Apr. 16 11:28 AM PT12:28 PM MT1:28 PM CT2:28 PM ET14:28 ET18:28 GMT2:28 11:28 AM MST1:28 PM EST1:58 PM VEN22:28 UAE1:28 PM CT-Ventura pitched seven solid innings and finally got his first victory as the Royals beat the Houston Astros 4-2.
Analysis: Ventura entered Tuesday night's game winless in four career starts dating to last season despite posting a 2.53 ERA in those games. Expect more wins if he keeps this up.
Apr. 9 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Ventura was excellent in Tuesday's 1-0 loss to Tampa Bay, allowing two hits and striking out six over six scoreless innings.
Analysis: Ventura threw 62 of his 95 pitches for strikes and didn't walk anybody. He could be in for a big season if his 2014 debut is any indication.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 KC 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 13 6 6 3 6 0 11 1.24 3.52
2014 KC 14 10 0 - 0 31 30 0 183.0 168 70 65 14 69 1 159 1.30 3.20
Career 14 11 0 - 0 34 33 0 198.1 181 76 71 17 75 1 170 1.29 3.22

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 KC 31 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 34 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .250 .250 .250

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 KC Total 1 0 0 - 1 5 4 0 25.1 23 9 9 3 9 0 14 3.20
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 5 1 1 0 1 0 5 1.29
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 5 4 4 1 3 0 3 6.35
    WC 0 0 0 - 1 1 0 0 0.1 2 2 2 1 0 0 0 54.00
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.1 11 2 2 1 5 0 6 1.46
Career 1 0 0 - 1 5 4 0 25.1 23 9 9 3 9 0 14 3.20


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1888 101 91 96.6 63.33
Curveball 431 88 75 82.8 14.46
Changeup 451 93 79 87.5 15.13
Cut Fastball 211 97 90 94.4 7.08

w11 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.