MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#31
Danny Salazar
ERA W-L K
3.27 12-7 172
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-0 / 195 NFBC ADP: 257.85
Position: SPBorn: 1/11/1990 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Undrafted by Indians (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 1 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Salazar won for the fourth time in his last five decisions Monday, allowing two runs over seven innings in a 4-2 win at Toronto.
Analysis: Salazar is closing his season in impressive fashion, going 4-1 with a 2.03 ERA over his last six starts.
Aug. 28 10:42 AM PT11:42 AM MT12:42 PM CT1:42 PM ET13:42 ET17:42 GMT1:42 10:42 AM MST12:42 PM EST1:12 PM VEN21:42 UAE12:42 PM CT-Salazar was scratched from Friday's start against the Angels due to illness.
Analysis: Salazar, whom manager Terry Francona said has been sick since Tuesday, will next start Monday against Toronto.
Aug. 23 12:30 PM PT1:30 PM MT2:30 PM CT3:30 PM ET15:30 ET19:30 GMT3:30 12:30 PM MST2:30 PM EST3:00 PM VEN23:30 UAE2:30 PM CT-Salazar was awful Saturday.
Analysis: Salazar pitched 4 2-3 innings. He was charged with eight hits and five runs - four earned. He struck out six without a walk.
Aug. 18 12:20 PM PT1:20 PM MT2:20 PM CT3:20 PM ET15:20 ET19:20 GMT3:20 12:20 PM MST2:20 PM EST2:50 PM VEN23:20 UAE2:20 PM CT-Salazar recorded his third win in four starts Monday, holding Boston to one run over seven innings in an 8-2 victory.
Analysis: Salazar has been a big part of a dominant Cleveland rotation that deserves better, going 4-2 with a 1.45 ERA in his last seven starts.
Aug. 6 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Salazar allowed a run on three hits while fanning seven over six innings in a no decision Wednesday against the Angels.
Analysis: Though he's gone just 2-2 over his last five starts, Salazar owns a 1.53 ERA and 35 strikeouts in 35 1/3 innings during that stretch.
Aug. 1 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Salazar allowed one unearned run and one hit over eight innings in Friday's 2-1 win at Oakland.
Analysis: Salazar, who only struck out four, has gone 2-2 with a 1.53 ERA over his last four starts.
July 11 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Salazar allowed an unearned run and five hits with eight strikeouts in 8 2-3 innings of Friday's 5-1 win over Oakland.
Analysis: Salazar hadn't made it through five innings in three of his previous four starts, so his longest outing of the season came at a good time.
July 1 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE2:41 PM CT-Salazar pitched two-hit ball for 7 2-3 innings and the Cleveland Indians backed him with three home runs Tuesday to beat the Tampa Bay Rays 6-2.
Analysis: Salazar retired the first 15 batters and allowed one run and two hits in 7 2-3 innings. "That guy Salazar, his stuff is as good as anybody in baseball," Rays manager Kevin Cash said.
June 24 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)4:08 PM CT-Salazar had one of his worst starts in a 7-3 loss to Detroit on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Salazar (6-3, 4.06 ERA) matched a career high by allowing seven runs in 4 1-3 innings. He was 2-1 with a 3.03 ERA in his previous six starts.
June 13 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Salazar fell to 6-2 as he was outdueled by David Price on Friday.
Analysis: Salazar allowed three runs and seven hits in seven innings while walking one and striking out six. He was replaced by C.C. Lee to begin the eighth.
June 7 12:18 PM PT1:18 PM MT2:18 PM CT3:18 PM ET15:18 ET19:18 GMT3:18 12:18 PM MST2:18 PM EST2:48 PM VEN23:18 UAE2:18 PM CT-Salazar pitched impressively into the eighth inning to reach a career high in wins as the Cleveland Indians beat the Baltimore Orioles 2-1 on Saturday.
Analysis: Salazar improved to 6-1 as he struck out 10 and allowed six hits and a run in seven-plus innings.
June 1 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Salazar did not get a decision Sunday.
Analysis: Salazar allowed three runs in 5 1-3 innings with four walks.
May 11 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Salazar allowed just one hit while striking out 11 in seven innings Sunday against Minnesota.
Analysis: After allowing a leadoff home run to Minnesota's Brian Dozier, Salazar retired 21 straight hitters. He leads the league with 13.09 strikeouts per nine innings.
Apr. 19 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-In his first start of the season, Salazar allowed two runs through six innings while striking out 10 in Saturday's win at Minnesota.
Analysis: Salazar is an excellent source of strikeouts when a part of the rotation, but inconsistent play too often has him on the verge of demotion. He had 120 strikeouts with a 4.25 ERA in 110 innings last season.
Mar. 27 11:45 AM PT12:45 PM MT1:45 PM CT2:45 PM ET14:45 ET18:45 GMT2:45 11:45 AM MST1:45 PM EST2:15 PM VEN22:45 UAE12:45 PM CT-Cleveland has optioned Salazar to Triple-A Columbus. Salazar had been in the running to win one of the two open spots in Cleveland's starting rotation, but the right-hander has struggled this spring and the Indians sent him back to the minors.
Analysis: Salazar got roughed up Thursday against Cincinnati, allowing six earned runs - two homers - and six hits in 3 1-3 innings. His fastball was high in the strike zone down the middle. In four spring outings, Salazar is 1-2 with an 8.18 ERA. He has allowed 14 hits and 10 runs in 11 innings. Salazar bounced between Columbus and Cleveland last season. He went 6-8 with a 4.25 ERA in 20 starts. In 2013, he started the Indians' wild-card game against Tampa Bay.
Feb. 4 9:18 AM PT10:18 AM MT11:18 AM CT12:18 PM ET12:18 ET17:18 GMT1:18 10:18 AM MST12:18 PM EST12:48 PM VEN21:18 UAE11:18 AM CT-The Indians say they are aware of a police investigation involving Salazar. General manager Chris Antonetti released a statement Wednesday and says the team will not comment any further because of the potential of a legal matter.
Analysis: Salazar is expected to compete for a starter's job at spring training. The 25-year-old went 6-8 in 20 starts last season, when he bounced between the Indians and Triple-A Columbus. He opened 2014 in Cleveland's starting rotation, going 1-4 with a 5.53 ERA in his first eight starts. Salazar soared through the system in 2013 and started Cleveland's wild-card playoff game against Tampa Bay.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Cle 2 3 0 - 0 10 10 0 52.0 44 18 18 7 15 0 65 1.13 3.12
2014 Cle 6 8 0 - 0 20 20 1 110.0 117 57 52 13 35 4 120 1.38 4.25
2015 Cle 12 7 0 - 0 24 24 0 151.1 121 63 55 20 42 1 172 1.08 3.27
Career 20 18 0 - 0 54 54 1 313.1 282 138 125 40 92 5 357 1.19 3.59

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Cle 10 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Cle 20 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Cle 24 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 54 9 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 9 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Cle Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 3 3 1 2 1 4 6.75
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 3 3 1 2 1 4 6.75
Career 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 3 3 1 2 1 4 6.75


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1682 99 89 95 67.93
Curveball 100 83 74 79.8 4.04
Slider 155 89 82 85.3 6.26
Split-Finger 513 90 81 85.5 20.72
Cut Fastball 26 94 90 92.7 1.05

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.