MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Sonny Gray
2.73 14-7 169
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 5-11 / 180 NFBC ADP: 89.54
Position: SPBorn: 11/7/1989 Birthplace: Nashville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Athletics (2011)

Latest News
Sep. 26 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Gray pitched the Oakland A's past the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Friday night, yet did so with his left hip still bothering him, raising question as to whether he will even take the mound again with his team already out of the playoffs.
Analysis: Gray (14-7, 2.73 ERA) struck out seven in six innings to bounce back from two rough starts in which he had no-decisions, but this might be it for him given he has been dealing with lingering tightness in his left hip for two starts now.
Sep. 20 5:53 PM PT6:53 PM MT7:53 PM CT8:53 PM ET20:53 ET0:53 GMT8:53 5:53 PM MST7:53 PM EST8:23 PM VEN4:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-Gray continues to fade down the stretch, not recording a decision in another sub-par showing Saturday at Houston.
Analysis: Gray gave up five runs over 5 1-3 innings, raising his ERA to 2.72.
Sep. 15 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Gray escaped without a decision Monday despite being horrendous.
Analysis: Gray was simply awful. The seven earned runs allowed in three-plus innings matched a career-high and Gray's ERA rose from 2.28 to 2.56 for Oakland. "I just didn't throw enough strikes tonight and they made me pay for it with a couple big swings," Gray said.
Sep. 9 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Gray outpitched close friend Scott Kazmir, and the Athletics spoiled the former Oakland lefty's return to the Coliseum mound with a 4-0 win over the Astros on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Gray allowed five hits, struck out four and walked two in seven innings. He ended a three-game losing streak with his first victory since beating Houston on Aug. 7.
Sep. 3 3:06 PM PT4:06 PM MT5:06 PM CT6:06 PM ET18:06 ET22:06 GMT6:06 3:06 PM MST5:06 PM EST5:36 PM VEN2:06 UAE (+1)5:06 PM CT-Gray dropped to 12-7 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Gray gave up six runs in five innings. He lost to the Angels for the first time in five starts this season after beginning 3-0.
Aug. 23 9:40 AM PT10:40 AM MT11:40 AM CT12:40 PM ET12:40 ET16:40 GMT0:40 9:40 AM MST11:40 AM EST12:10 PM VEN20:40 UAE11:40 AM CT-Gray served up three longballs in Saturday's no-decision.
Analysis: Gray lasted eight innings and was charged with the three runs.
Aug. 18 11:10 AM PT12:10 PM MT1:10 PM CT2:10 PM ET14:10 ET18:10 GMT2:10 11:10 AM MST1:10 PM EST1:40 PM VEN22:10 UAE1:10 PM CT-Gray lost for just the second time in his last 11 starts Monday, giving up four runs - just one earned - over 5 2-3 innings in a 4-2 defeat at Baltimore.
Analysis: Gray had pitched at least seven innings in seven straight outings, including three complete games. Even in the loss, he managed to lower his ERA slightly to 2.04.
Aug. 13 7:56 AM PT8:56 AM MT9:56 AM CT10:56 AM ET10:56 ET14:56 GMT22:56 7:56 AM MST9:56 AM EST10:26 AM VEN18:56 UAE9:56 AM CT-Gray could return from a nagging back injury as soon as Monday. The right-hander was scratched from his scheduled start against Toronto on Thursday after experiencing back spasms Wednesday.
Analysis: Trainers treated him with muscle relaxants and a massage. On Thursday, he reported no pain after throwing for five minutes from 75 feet.
July 29 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Gray gave up three hits with nine strikeouts in a shutout of the Los Angeles Dodgers on Tuesday.
Analysis: Gray has thrown two of his four career shutouts in the last four games, going 2-1 with a 2.03 ERA and .176 opponent batting average in that span.
July 13 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Gray was named the starter for Friday's meeting with Minnesota as the A's return from the All-Star break.
Analysis: Gray is one of the best pitchers in baseball, going 10-3 with a 2.04 ERA. He had that many wins with a 2.79 ERA at the break last year, following it up by going 4-7 with a 3.47 ERA in 14 starts the rest of the way.
July 13 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Gray pitched a two-hit shutout and allowed only three base runners, leading the Oakland Athletics to a 2-0 win over the Cleveland Indians on Sunday.
Analysis: Gray, who lowered his AL-best ERA to 2.04, walked one and struck out six in his sixth win in seven decisions. Only three outs were recorded by outfielders in his third career shutout. Gray (10-3) retired the first 10 hitters before Francisco Lindor's one-out single in the fourth.
June 30 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Gray has been diagnosed with a stomach ailment that sent him to a hospital. The Oakland pitcher remained in the hospital overnight with severe gastritis and was expected to be released some time Wednesday. The condition involves inflammation in the lining of the stomach. Oakland team physician Dr. Allan Pont said of all the cases of severe gastritis he's seen in 32 years with the A's, this was the first requiring a hospital visit.
Analysis: Gray is second in the AL with a 2.09 ERA and 9-3 for the last-place A's. He was scratched from his scheduled start on Tuesday night because of the ailment. A's manager Bob Melvin does not know when his ace will be able to pitch again. The A's are hoping he can start Sunday against the Seattle Mariners.
June 26 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)4:08 PM CT-Gray recorded his ninth win of the season Thursday, giving up three runs over six innings of a 6-3 victory at Texas.
Analysis: Gray is 5-1 with a 2.31 ERA in his last seven games.
June 20 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Gray somehow failed to protect a five-run lead Friday.
Analysis: Gray allowed six runs and five hits in six-plus innings while matching his career-low with two strikeouts. He took a majors-low 1.60 ERA into the game and was in line for his ninth win until the Angels' eight-run outburst in the seventh.
June 15 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Gray lowered his ERA to a major league-best 1.60 with 7 2-3 stellar innings in an 8-1 win over the Los Angeles Angels on Sunday.
Analysis: Gray (8-3) gave up one unearned run and five hits, struck out nine, and did not issue a walk. The right-hander has yielded only nine walks in his last eight starts after giving up career-high seven on May 3 at Texas.
June 10 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Gray snapped a three-start winning streak Tuesday despite a solid outing, giving up two runs over six innings in a 2-1 loss to the Rangers.
Analysis: Gray, 7-4, had his ERA climb slightly to 1.74, falling just behind Gerrit Cole (1.73) for the major league lead.
June 4 11:25 AM PT12:25 PM MT1:25 PM CT2:25 PM ET14:25 ET18:25 GMT2:25 11:25 AM MST1:25 PM EST1:55 PM VEN22:25 UAE1:25 PM CT-Gray pitched eight shutout innings as the Oakland Athletics handed the Detroit Tigers their sixth straight loss, 6-1 on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Gray (7-2, 1.65 ERA) has a 0.86 ERA in a three-start win streak.
May 30 8:45 AM PT9:45 AM MT10:45 AM CT11:45 AM ET11:45 ET15:45 GMT23:45 8:45 AM MST10:45 AM EST11:15 AM VEN19:45 UAE10:45 AM CT-Gray pitched eight innings for his sixth win of the season as Oakland beat the New York Yankees 6-2 on Friday night.
Analysis: It was a sharp bounce back for Gray, who struck out five, walked two and allowed four hits and two runs. Oakland's young right-hander, who left his previous start after being hit in the right ankle by a line drive.
May 25 12:51 PM PT1:51 PM MT2:51 PM CT3:51 PM ET15:51 ET19:51 GMT3:51 12:51 PM MST2:51 PM EST3:21 PM VEN23:51 UAE2:51 PM CT-Gray threw five scoreless inning in Oakland's 7-2 win over Tampa Bay on Sunday.
Analysis: Gray improved to 5-2 and lowered his ERA to 1.77.
May 24 12:50 PM PT1:50 PM MT2:50 PM CT3:50 PM ET15:50 ET19:50 GMT3:50 12:50 PM MST2:50 PM EST3:20 PM VEN23:50 UAE2:50 PM CT-Gray has left his start early because of a bruised right ankle.
Analysis: Gray was hit in the lower leg by James Loney's grounder in the fourth inning, but remained in the game after being looked at by a team trainer.
May 20 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Gray allowed three runs and seven hits in five innings of Tuesday's loss to Houston.
Analysis: Gray allowed two runs in 19 2-3 innings over his previous three starts. He's suffered the loss in two straight outings.
May 14 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Gray surrendered one run and three hits with nine strikeouts in Wednesday's 2-0 loss to the Red Sox.
Analysis: Gray is 4-1 with a 1.61 ERA on the season and he's allowed two runs or less in his last five starts.
Apr. 12 12:42 PM PT1:42 PM MT2:42 PM CT3:42 PM ET15:42 ET19:42 GMT3:42 12:42 PM MST2:42 PM EST3:12 PM VEN23:42 UAE2:42 PM CT-Gray was solid Saturday in his 2015 fantasy debut.
Analysis: Gray allowed two runs - one earned - and six hits in 7 1-3 innings. Dustin Ackley homered leading off the third, ending Gray's consecutive scoreless innings streak at 20 dating to Sept. 23. Expect the fantasy stud to start a new streak immediately.
Apr. 7 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Gray didn't allow a hit until Ryan Rua singled leading off the eighth inning, and the Oakland Athletics snapped their record 10-game losing streak on opening day by beating the Texas Rangers 8-0 Monday night.
Analysis: Trying to join Bob Feller (1940) as the only pitchers to throw a no-hitter on opening day, Gray dazzled through seven innings and allowed only two baserunners before Rua's sharp grounder to right field. Fans in the sellout crowd of 36,067 chanted ''Sonny! Sonny!'' and offered a roaring ovation. Gray (1-0) walked one and struck out three in his 98-pitch performance.
Mar. 16 10:44 AM PT11:44 AM MT12:44 PM CT1:44 PM ET13:44 ET17:44 GMT1:44 10:44 AM MST12:44 PM EST1:14 PM VEN21:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Gray has been picked to start the Oakland Athletics' opener for the second straight season. Manager Bob Melvin made the announcement Monday, saying Gray will face Texas on April 6.
Analysis: Gray pitched six shutout innings against Cleveland in last year's opener, just the second pitcher in Oakland history to not allow a run on opening day. The 25-year-old went 14-10 last season and led the A's in strikeouts (183) and innings (200).

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
2013 Oak 5 3 0 - 0 12 10 0 64.0 51 22 19 4 20 0 67 1.11 2.67
2014 Oak 14 10 0 - 0 33 33 2 219.0 187 84 75 15 74 2 183 1.19 3.08
2015 Oak 14 7 0 - 0 31 31 3 208.0 166 71 63 17 59 0 169 1.08 2.73
Career 33 20 0 - 0 76 74 5 491.0 404 177 157 36 153 2 419 1.13 2.88

Hitting Statistics
2014 Oak 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Oak 31 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .167
Career 76 8 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .125 .125 .125


Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Oak Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08
Career 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08

Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1898 97 86 92.9 61.66
Curveball 430 85 76 81.3 13.97
Slider 498 90 82 85.9 16.18
Changeup 156 91 82 87.3 5.07
Cut Fastball 96 93 88 91 3.12

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.