MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#52
Matt Shoemaker
ERA W-L K
4.31 7-9 115
Team: LA AngelsHt / Wt: 6-2 / 225 NFBC ADP: 210.59
Position: SPBorn: 9/27/1986 Birthplace: Wyandotte, Michigan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Angels (2008)


Latest News
Sep. 2 8:42 AM PT9:42 AM MT10:42 AM CT11:42 AM ET11:42 ET15:42 GMT23:42 8:42 AM MST10:42 AM EST11:12 AM VEN19:42 UAE10:42 AM CT-Shoemaker delivered a second straight strong start Tuesday, yielding a run on five hits through seven innings to defeat Oakland.
Analysis: A brief demotion to Triple A seems to have gotten Shoemaker back on track. He one-hit Detroit through 7 1-3 innings in his previous start after surrendering 13 runs in 7 1-3 innings to lose his two prior assignments.
Aug. 28 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Shoemaker returned from a brief stint in Triple A to hold Detroit to one hit over 7 1-3 scoreless innings.
Analysis: Shoemaker earned his first win since July 21 and was far better than his previous two starts, when he was rocked for 13 runs over 7 1-3 innings in back-to-back loses to the White Sox and Kansas City.
Aug. 16 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-The Los Angeles Angels optioned Matt Shoemaker, who failed to finish the second inning Saturday at Kansas City, to Triple-A Salt Lake on Sunday.
Analysis: Shoemaker, 28, went 16-4 with a 3.04 ERA last season, but is 5-9 with a 4.76 ERA in 22 games (21 starts) in 2015.
Aug. 11 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Shoemaker was hit hard Monday, permitting seven runs and three homers in 5 2-3 innings to lose to the White Sox.
Analysis: Shoemaker entered the game on a major roll, having thrown 19 scoreless innings over his first three starts after the All-Star break.
Aug. 5 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Shoemaker tossed six scoreless innings and took a no-decision against the Indians on Tuesday. He limited Cleveland to five hits while walking two and striking out 10.
Analysis: It was Shoemaker's second 10-strikeout performance in his last three outings. He has 27 strikeouts in his last 19 innings.
July 22 3:01 PM PT4:01 PM MT5:01 PM CT6:01 PM ET18:01 ET22:01 GMT6:01 3:01 PM MST5:01 PM EST5:31 PM VEN2:01 UAE (+1)5:01 PM CT-Shoemaker limited the Twins to two hits with 10 strikeouts in six innings of Tuesday's 7-0 win.
Analysis: The strikeout total matched a career high, but the right-hander is struggling to go deep into games. He hasn't made it through more than six innings in his last seven starts.
July 2 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE2:56 PM CT-Shoemaker was again a big dud at the 'Big A.'
Analysis: Shoemaker dropped to 0-6 at Angel Stadium this season, yielding seven hits and two runs while pitching into the sixth inning Wednesday. The 16-game winner as a rookie last season has just two victories in his last 13 starts.
June 24 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-The Los Angeles Angels have made a pitching change for their series finale against the Houston Astros, recalling left-hander Andrew Heaney from Triple-A Salt Lake to make his sixth major league start instead of struggling Shoemaker.
Analysis: Shoemaker is being given a couple of extra days to work on fastball command. He is penciled in to start Friday night against Seattle.
June 20 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Shoemaker was awful Friday.
Analysis: Shoemaker allowed five runs and eight hits with two strikeouts in four-plus innings. He could get dumped from the rotation any day now.
June 15 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Shoemaker took his first loss in four games with an 8-1 defeat to Oakland on Sunday.
Analysis: Shoemaker (4-5, 4.85 ERA) gave up four runs in 5 2-3 innings. He was 1-0 with a 1.45 ERA in his prior three starts. Shoemaker is 0-4 with a 5.17 ERA in six home starts this year.
June 10 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Shoemaker gave up two runs over 6 1-3 innings Tuesday in an 8-2 victory at Tampa Bay, in his first win since May 16.
Analysis: Shoemaker appears to be finding some traction with a 1.45 ERA over his last three games.
June 1 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Shoemaker may be turning around a horrible season.
Analysis: Shoemaker was charged with two runs, four hits and a season-high four walks in 5 1-3 innings. The Michigan native's only other start against the Tigers was on July 26, 2014, when he pitched seven innings of three-hit ball in a 4-0 win.
May 27 8:18 AM PT9:18 AM MT10:18 AM CT11:18 AM ET11:18 ET15:18 GMT23:18 8:18 AM MST10:18 AM EST10:48 AM VEN19:18 UAE10:18 AM CT-Shoemaker's brilliance was wasted Saturday.
Analysis: Shoemaker yielded four hits and a walk over seven innings in his strongest start of a rocky season for the Angels.
May 17 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Shoemaker allowed three hits and one run in seven innings Saturday against Baltimore.
Analysis: Shoemaker also struck out seven in his third win of the season. His ERA now sits at 5.63.
Apr. 22 5:30 PM PT6:30 PM MT7:30 PM CT8:30 PM ET20:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST7:30 PM EST8:00 PM VEN4:30 UAE (+1)7:30 PM CT-The Los Angeles Angels have placed Shoemaker on the bereavement list after the death of his grandfather.
Analysis: Shoemaker is tentatively penciled in to make his next start next Wednesday night at Oakland after Jered Weaver opens the series on an extra day's rest.
Apr. 9 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Shoemaker picked up the win Wednesday despite allowing a home run to Brad Miller in the third and a two-run shot by Kyle Seager in the sixth. He struck out three and walked none in his six innings.
Analysis: Shoemaker is 17-4 in his career and he's a born winner.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 LAA 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 2 0 0 0 2 0 5 0.80 0.00
2014 LAA 16 4 0 - 0 27 20 0 136.0 122 49 46 14 24 0 124 1.07 3.04
2015 LAA 7 9 0 - 0 24 23 0 131.2 129 66 63 22 33 2 115 1.23 4.31
Career 23 13 0 - 0 52 44 0 272.2 253 115 109 36 59 2 244 1.14 3.60

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 LAA 27 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 LAA 24 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .500 .000
Career 52 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .333 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 LAA Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 1 0 0 0 0 6 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 1 0 0 0 0 6 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 1 0 0 0 0 6 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1138 94 84 90.2 56.7
Curveball 153 79 70 75.3 7.62
Slider 289 85 76 81.5 14.4
Split-Finger 427 87 78 83.9 21.28

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.