MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#79
Jose Abreu
AVG HR RBI
.317 36 107
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-3 / 255 NFBC ADP: 83.12
Position: 1BBorn: 1/29/1987 Birthplace: Cienfuegos, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by White Sox (2013)


Latest News
Sep. 28 10:59 AM PT11:59 AM MT12:59 PM CT1:59 PM ET13:59 ET17:59 GMT1:59 10:59 AM MST12:59 PM EST1:29 PM VEN21:59 UAE12:59 PM CT-Abreu drilled his 36th homer Saturday.
Analysis: Abreu is tied for fourth in the majors in homers after his first jack since Sept. 14.
Sep. 26 7:50 AM PT8:50 AM MT9:50 AM CT10:50 AM ET10:50 ET14:50 GMT22:50 7:50 AM MST9:50 AM EST10:20 AM VEN18:50 UAE9:50 AM CT-Abreu was 1 for 5 on Thursday.
Analysis: Abreu is cooling off as the season ends with six hits in his last 33 at-bats in a nine-game stretch without an extra-base hit. Fantasy owners may want to sit the superstar for the final three games against the Royals.
Aug. 31 12:17 PM PT1:17 PM MT2:17 PM CT3:17 PM ET15:17 ET19:17 GMT3:17 12:17 PM MST2:17 PM EST2:47 PM VEN23:17 UAE2:17 PM CT-Abreu stayed hot by going 3 for 4 with an RBI in Saturday's 6-3 win over Detroit.
Analysis: The outstanding rookie is batting .526 with two home runs over an 11-game hitting streak.
Aug. 28 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Abreu went 3 for 4 with two RBIs in Wednesday's 3-2 win over Cleveland.
Analysis: Abreu is 10 for 19 over his last five games.
Aug. 23 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Abreu went 2 for 4 with his 33rd home run in a 4-3 loss at Yankee Stadium on Friday.
Analysis: Abreu is hitting .370 with seven RBIs in his last seven games. The rookie is second in the AL in homers.
Aug. 16 6:24 PM PT7:24 PM MT8:24 PM CT9:24 PM ET21:24 ET1:24 GMT9:24 6:24 PM MST8:24 PM EST8:54 PM VEN5:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Abreu went 3 for 5 with three RBIs in Friday's 11-5 win over visiting Toronto.
Analysis: Abreu had been 8 for 39 with no homers over his previous 11 contests.
Aug. 5 9:40 AM PT10:40 AM MT11:40 AM CT12:40 PM ET12:40 ET16:40 GMT0:40 9:40 AM MST11:40 AM EST12:10 PM VEN20:40 UAE11:40 AM CT-Abreu was 2 for 3 with two RBIs in a 5-3 win over Texas on Monday.
Analysis: Abreu is 36 for 86 (.419) over his last 22 games with 15 extra-base hits and 17 RBIs.
Aug. 3 11:17 AM PT12:17 PM MT1:17 PM CT2:17 PM ET14:17 ET18:17 GMT2:17 11:17 AM MST1:17 PM EST1:47 PM VEN22:17 UAE1:17 PM CT-Abreu's hitting streak ended at 21 games, longest in the AL this season, in an 8-6 loss to Minnesota on Saturday night.
Analysis: The Chicago White Sox slugger went 0 for 3 with two walks, one of them intentional. The Cuban rookie, who leads the majors with 31 home runs, had reached base in 10 straight plate appearances before he popped up in the first inning. He batted .429 with four homers and 15 RBIs during his streak and has batted safely in 39 of his last 41 contests.
Aug. 2 11:21 AM PT12:21 PM MT1:21 PM CT2:21 PM ET14:21 ET18:21 GMT2:21 11:21 AM MST1:21 PM EST1:51 PM VEN22:21 UAE1:21 PM CT-Abreu reached base five times while extending his hitting streak to 21 games Friday.
Analysis: Abreu had three singles, scored twice and drove in a run. He also walked and was hit by a pitch. The 21-game hitting streak is the longest by a White Sox player since Carlos Lee's club-record run of 28 in 2004. Abreu has reached base in 10 straight plate appearances. No White Sox player has done that since Frank Thomas set a team mark of 15 in 1997.
Aug. 1 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Abreu went 3 for 3 and walked twice in Thursday's 7-4 win at Detroit.
Analysis: Abreu raised his average to .305, the highest it's been since the first week of the season. He's hit safely in 20 straight, going 33 for 81 (.407).
July 31 11:14 AM PT12:14 PM MT1:14 PM CT2:14 PM ET14:14 ET18:14 GMT2:14 11:14 AM MST1:14 PM EST1:44 PM VEN22:14 UAE1:14 PM CT-Abreu singled in the seventh inning Wednesday night and extended his hit streak to 19 games in a 7-2 loss to Detroit.
Analysis: Abreu is batting .385 (30 for 78) with nine doubles, four homers and 14 RBIs during his run. He has hit safely in 37 of his last 38 games.
July 30 11:19 AM PT12:19 PM MT1:19 PM CT2:19 PM ET14:19 ET18:19 GMT2:19 11:19 AM MST1:19 PM EST1:49 PM VEN22:19 UAE1:19 PM CT-Abreu went 3 for 4 with a two-run homer and drove in four runs Tuesday night while extending his hit streak to 18 games in an 11-4 win over Detroit.
Analysis: Abreu's home run was his major league-best 31st of the year. He's batting .392 with four homers during his streak, and is hitting .356 with 12 homers while batting safely in 36 of his last 37 contests.
July 26 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Abreu was 2 for 4 with his major league-leading 30th homer of the season in a 9-5 win over the Twins on Friday.
Analysis: Abreu is riding a hot stretch, batting .382 over his last 13 games with seven doubles, three homers and eight RBIs.
July 14 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Abreu's magnificent first half of the season ended Sunday.
Analysis: Abreu added three hits and ranks first in homers with 29 and fifth in OPS at .972. He's a fantasy stud who is showing no signs of slowing down.
July 13 8:59 AM PT9:59 AM MT10:59 AM CT11:59 AM ET11:59 ET15:59 GMT23:59 8:59 AM MST10:59 AM EST11:29 AM VEN19:59 UAE10:59 AM CT-Abreu hit his major league-leading 29th homer, a two-run shot that sent the Chicago White Sox over the Cleveland Indians 6-2 on Saturday and snapped a three-game skid.
Analysis: Abreu can become the third White Sox player with 30 homers before the All-Star break if he goes deep again Sunday, joining Frank Thomas (1994) and Jim Thome (2006). Abreu is 7 for 35 with five homers and 15 strikeouts against the Indians.
July 10 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Abreu hit his 28th home run of the season and singled in Wednesday's 5-4 loss at Boston.
Analysis: Abreu is batting .336 over his last 28 games with 11 homers and 23 RBIs.
July 9 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Abreu was 3 for 5 with his 18th and 19th doubles of the season in Tuesday's 8-3 win at Boston.
Analysis: Abreu continues to mash, boasting a .951 OPS. He entered Wednesday tied for fourth in the majors with 47 extra-base hits.
July 5 10:15 AM PT11:15 AM MT12:15 PM CT1:15 PM ET13:15 ET17:15 GMT1:15 10:15 AM MST12:15 PM EST12:45 PM VEN21:15 UAE12:15 PM CT-Abreu extended his hit streak to 18 games Friday night by belting his 27th homer of the season in a 7-1 win over Seattle.
Analysis: Abreu is batting .338 with eight home runs and 18 RBIs during his hitting streak, the longest active in the majors.
July 2 11:24 AM PT12:24 PM MT1:24 PM CT2:24 PM ET14:24 ET18:24 GMT2:24 11:24 AM MST1:24 PM EST1:54 PM VEN22:24 UAE1:24 PM CT-Abreu became the first player to reach 26 homers in 70 games in major league history and extended his hit streak to 16 games in Tuesday's doubleheader against the Los Angeles Angels.
Analysis: Abreu is batting .344 (22 for 64) with seven homers and 16 RBIs during his streak. He's tied with Baltimore's Nelson Cruz for the MLB lead with 26 home runs.
June 30 12:45 PM PT1:45 PM MT2:45 PM CT3:45 PM ET15:45 ET19:45 GMT3:45 12:45 PM MST2:45 PM EST3:15 PM VEN23:45 UAE2:45 PM CT-Abreu extended his hitting streak to 14 games with an RBI single in a 4-0 win over Toronto on Sunday.
Analysis: Abreu is batting .351 (20 for 57) with six homers, three doubles and 13 RBIs during the longest active streak in the majors.
June 28 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Abreu hit two solo home runs, and the Chicago White Sox survived a shaky ninth inning to beat the Toronto Blue Jays 5-4 Friday night for their second win in nine games.
Analysis: Abreu led off the fifth with his 24th home run, then connected for his 25th to begin the seventh. It was the fourth multihomer game of the season for Abreu, who is tied with Toronto's Edwin Encarnacion and Baltimore's Nelson Cruz for most homers in the majors. Abreu is the second player to have four multihomer games in his first 67 career games. The other was Atlanta's Bob Horner in 1978. He's hitting .358 with six homers during a 13-game hit streak.
June 26 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Abreu hit his 23rd home run for the White Sox on Wednesday.
Analysis: Abreu has four homers and 10 RBIs during his current 10-game hitting streak.
June 24 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Abreu hit his 22nd homer and drove in three runs for Chicago on Monday.
Analysis: Abreu has seven RBIs in his last four games.
June 23 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Abreu was 1 for 4 and drove in two runs Sunday against Minnesota.
Analysis: Abreu is 16 for 48 with 10 RBIs over his last 12 contests.
June 22 11:51 AM PT12:51 PM MT1:51 PM CT2:51 PM ET14:51 ET18:51 GMT2:51 11:51 AM MST1:51 PM EST2:21 PM VEN22:51 UAE1:51 PM CT-Abreu went 2 for 5 on Saturday.
Analysis: Abreu is now tied for fifth in the majors with 55 RBIs with two homers in his last four games.
June 19 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Abreu went 2 for 4 with a home run in Wednesday's win over San Francisco.
Analysis: The slugging first baseman is batting .355 with three homers in his last eight games.
June 12 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Abreu went 3 for 4 with a home run in Wednesday's win over Detroit.
Analysis: He's 5 for 8 with two homers in his last two games.
June 2 6:11 PM PT7:11 PM MT8:11 PM CT9:11 PM ET21:11 ET1:11 GMT9:11 6:11 PM MST8:11 PM EST8:41 PM VEN5:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-Abreu has been reinstated from the 15-day disabled list by the Chicago White Sox after missing 14 games because of tendinitis in his left ankle.
Analysis: The rookie slugger from Cuba rejoined the club Monday for the start of a three-game series at Dodger Stadium. When he left the lineup, he was leading the majors with 15 home runs and ranked second with 42 RBIs. The White Sox were 8-6 in his absence. Abreu set major league rookie records for homers (10), RBIs (32), extra-base hits (19) and total bases (71) in April and was selected AL rookie of the month.
May 22 4:49 PM PT5:49 PM MT6:49 PM CT7:49 PM ET19:49 ET23:49 GMT7:49 4:49 PM MST6:49 PM EST7:19 PM VEN3:49 UAE (+1)6:49 PM CT-Abreu expects to be ready to return from his ankle injury as soon as he's eligible to be activated from the 15-day disabled list.
Analysis: Abreu was placed on the DL because of tendinitis in his left ankle on Sunday. He expects to be in a walking boot for three more days and hopes to begin practicing Monday. He says the doctors will let him know what he can do then.
May 19 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 PM MST6:07 PM EST6:37 PM VEN3:07 UAE (+1)6:07 PM CT-Abreu will continue to rest his inflamed left ankle after an MRI exam showed no structural damage.
Analysis: The 27-year-old rookie left Saturday's game against Houston with a limp in the seventh inning. He was placed on the disabled list Sunday.
May 18 11:47 AM PT12:47 PM MT1:47 PM CT2:47 PM ET14:47 ET18:47 GMT2:47 11:47 AM MST1:47 PM EST2:17 PM VEN22:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-Abreu of the White Sox has been placed on the 15-day disabled list with tendinitis in his left ankle.
Analysis: The 27-year-old rookie first baseman left Saturday night's game against the Astros with a limp in the seventh inning. Abreu set rookie records for home runs (10), RBIs (32), extra-base hits and total bases in April.
May 10 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Abreu collected three more hits - including his major league-leading 13th homer - in Friday's win over Arizona.
Analysis: Abreu is hitting .279 after going 7 for his last 13. He's done all this despite a .286 BABIP, so it wouldn't be surprising to see his average climb higher going forward.
May 9 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Abreu is serving as the designated hitter for the series opener against Arizona on Friday due to a nagging left ankle injury.
Analysis: The White Sox and the Cuban first baseman say the move is a precaution. The DH night gives him a chance to get more rest to help clear up the issue. Abreu was batting .266 with 12 home runs and 35 RBIs.
May 8 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Abreu was 3 for 5 with two doubles Wednesday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Abreu leads the majors with 24 extra-base hits.
May 3 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Abreu went yard again Friday.
Analysis: Abreu is up to 11 homers and 33 RBIs. He's a fantasy sensation.
Apr. 29 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-Abreu collected his sixth multihit performance in 10 games Monday, going 2 for 4 with his major league-leading 32nd RBI against Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Abreu is slugging .881 over his last 10 games with 18 RBIs. Fantasy owners who took a chance by drafting Abreu are certainly patting themselves on the back.
Apr. 27 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Abreu drove in four runs and set a major league rookie record for RBIs through the end of April and the Chicago White Sox beat the Tampa Bay Rays 9-2 on Sunday.
Analysis: Abreu, who had a two-run home run in the sixth and a two-run single in the seventh, has 31 RBIs. Albert Pujols had the previous RBI mark of 27 in 2001.
Apr. 26 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE2:37 PM CT-Abreu hit a game-winning grand slam with two outs in the ninth inning for his second home run of the night, rallying the Chicago White Sox past the Tampa Bay Rays 9-6 on Friday.
Analysis: Abreu, who signed a $68 million, six-year contract in the offseason, finished with three hits and six RBIs. He became the first rookie in major league history to hit nine home runs by the end of April.
Apr. 24 11:11 AM PT12:11 PM MT1:11 PM CT2:11 PM ET14:11 ET18:11 GMT2:11 11:11 AM MST1:11 PM EST1:41 PM VEN22:11 UAE1:11 PM CT-Abreu drilled a two-run bomb Wednesday night.
Analysis: Abreu leads the team with seven homers and 21 RBIs as he continues to take the big leagues by storm.
Apr. 23 11:15 AM PT12:15 PM MT1:15 PM CT2:15 PM ET14:15 ET18:15 GMT2:15 11:15 AM MST1:15 PM EST1:45 PM VEN22:15 UAE1:15 PM CT-Abreu had two hits, including a solo homer, in an 8-6 loss to Detroit on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Abreu is 8 for 16 with three doubles, two homers, five RBIs and seven runs scored in his last four games. He was mired in a 1-for-25 slump before this hot stretch.
Apr. 21 10:30 AM PT11:30 AM MT12:30 PM CT1:30 PM ET13:30 ET17:30 GMT1:30 10:30 AM MST12:30 PM EST1:00 PM VEN21:30 UAE12:30 PM CT-Abreu had a two-run homer and a pair of doubles in the Chicago White Sox's 16-2 rout of Texas on Sunday.
Analysis: Abreu has appeared to break out of his slump. He's 5 for 9 in his last two games after going 1 for 25 in his previous seven.
Apr. 17 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-The Chicago White Sox are giving slumping slugger Jose Abreu a day off.
Analysis: Manager Robin Ventura didn't put the Cuban rookie in the starting lineup for Thursday night's game against Boston. Abreu is in a 1-for-25 rut. Ventura says the first baseman has "a lot going on" and that it's "the right time" to give him a break before the White Sox go on the road to Texas.
Apr. 9 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Abreu hit his first two major league home runs in Tuesday's blowout of Colorado.
Analysis: Abreu is hitting .250 but slugging an impressive .563.
Apr. 4 10:38 AM PT11:38 AM MT12:38 PM CT1:38 PM ET13:38 ET17:38 GMT1:38 10:38 AM MST12:38 PM EST1:08 PM VEN21:38 UAE12:38 PM CT-Abreu continued his impressive start with a double and a triple in Thursday's loss to the Twins.
Analysis: Abreu is 5 for 12 with five RBIs through his first three big league games.
Apr. 1 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Making his major league debut, Abreu went 2 for 4 with a run scored and an RBI in Monday's season-opening 5-3 win over Minnesota.
Analysis: Abreu doubled off Ricky Nolasco in the second inning for his first big league hit, then singled in the third. Fantasy owners who were lucky enough to draft Abreu are surely feeling good about their investment.
Feb. 28 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET4:50 GMT12:50 9:50 PM MST11:50 PM EST12:20 AM VEN8:50 UAE10:50 PM CT-Abreu made his first appearance in a White Sox uniform Friday.
Analysis: The Cuban slugger signed for six years and $68 million in October. He went 0 for 2 against Dodgers pitching, which held the White Sox to five hits.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 CWS 145 556 80 176 35 2 36 107 51 131 3 1 .317 .383 .581
Career 145 556 80 176 35 2 36 107 51 131 3 1 .317 .383 .581

Postseason


126 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.