MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#22
Nick Martinez
ERA W-L K
4.09 7-7 73
Team: TexasHt / Wt: 6-1 / 200 NFBC ADP: 645.08
Position: SPBorn: 8/5/1990 Birthplace: Hialeah, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 18th Round by Rangers (2011)


Latest News
July 20 5:01 PM PT6:01 PM MT7:01 PM CT8:01 PM ET20:01 ET0:01 GMT8:01 5:01 PM MST7:01 PM EST7:31 PM VEN4:01 UAE (+1)7:01 PM CT-The Texas Rangers have recalled Martinez from Triple-A Round Rock to start Monday night's game against the Colorado Rockies.
Analysis: Martinez (5-5, 3.43 ERA) made 16 starts for the Rangers before being sent to Round Rock on July 2. Martinez has tossed at least six innings in seven of his last eight starts for Texas. He pitched a combined six innings in two starts for the Triple-A Express before Monday's recall.
July 2 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Martinez fell to 5-5 on Wednesday and was optioned to the minors.
Analysis: Martinez gave up four runs, three earned, and seven hits in 6 2-3 innings. He has lost three straight starts. Rangers manager Jeff Banister says the team is monitoring Martinez's innings and wants to keep him fresh. Martinez pitched 150 innings last year and is already at 97.
June 27 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Martinez surrendered a career-high nine runs, including eight earned, and nine hits over six innings in a 12-2 loss at Toronto on Friday.
Analysis: Martinez is 1-4 with a 5.60 ERA in his last six games.
June 21 11:10 AM PT12:10 PM MT1:10 PM CT2:10 PM ET14:10 ET18:10 GMT2:10 11:10 AM MST1:10 PM EST1:40 PM VEN22:10 UAE1:10 PM CT-Martinez fell to 5-3 on Saturday.
Analysis: Martinez gave up two earned runs in six innings and has dropped three of his last four decisions.
June 10 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Martinez recorded his fifth win Tuesday at Oakland with a stellar performance, yielding only three walks and one hit over six scoreless innings in a 2-1 victory.
Analysis: Martinez improved to 5-2 and lowered his ERA to 2.65.
June 4 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Martinez had his worst outing of the season in a 9-2 loss to the Chicago White Sox on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Martinez (4-2, 2.89 ERA) allowed seven runs and nine hits in 3 1-3 innings. He hadn't given up more than three earned runs in any of his prior 10 outings.
May 29 12:42 PM PT1:42 PM MT2:42 PM CT3:42 PM ET15:42 ET19:42 GMT3:42 12:42 PM MST2:42 PM EST3:12 PM VEN23:42 UAE2:42 PM CT-Martinez took his first defeat of 2015 Thursday despite another quality outing, giving up two runs over seven innings of a 5-1 loss to Boston.
Analysis: Though he lost for the first time in 10 s tarts, Martinez remains one of the biggest surprises in baseball with a 4-1 record and 2.03 ERA.
Apr. 22 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Martinez allowed a run and five hits in six innings of Tuesday's win over Arizona.
Analysis: Martinez didn't earn the decision, but he's 2-0 with a 0.45 ERA and .197 opponent batting average. It was the first earned run he's allowed this season.
Apr. 15 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Martinez allowed an unearned run through seven innings of Tuesday's win over the Angels.
Analysis: Martinez has yet to allow an earned run through 14 innings while winning both of his starts.
Apr. 10 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Martinez cruised in his 2015 fantasy debut Thursday.
Analysis: Martinez gave up four hits in seven scoreless innings, his sixth straight start with two or fewer earned runs allowed.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Tex 5 12 0 - 0 29 24 0 140.1 150 79 71 18 55 1 77 1.46 4.55
2015 Tex 7 7 0 - 0 21 21 0 121.0 131 66 55 16 44 2 73 1.45 4.09
Career 12 19 0 - 0 50 45 0 261.1 281 145 126 34 99 3 150 1.45 4.34

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Tex 32 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Tex 21 4 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 53 7 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1250 93 86 89.8 61.04
Curveball 130 77 71 74.3 6.35
Slider 446 85 78 81.1 21.78
Changeup 222 85 80 82.9 10.84

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.