MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#29
Roenis Elias
ERA W-L K
3.85 10-12 143
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-1 / 190 NFBC ADP: 554.66
Position: SPBorn: 8/1/1988 Birthplace: Guantanamo, Cuba
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Mariners (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 17 11:12 PM PT12:12 AM MT1:12 AM CT2:12 AM ET2:12 ET6:12 GMT14:12 11:12 PM MST1:12 AM EST1:42 AM VEN10:12 UAE1:12 AM CT-Elias left Tuesday's start with left elbow stiffness.
Analysis: His season might be over, but it's too early to know for sure.
Aug. 2 11:43 AM PT12:43 PM MT1:43 PM CT2:43 PM ET14:43 ET18:43 GMT2:43 11:43 AM MST1:43 PM EST2:13 PM VEN22:43 UAE1:43 PM CT-Elias lost Friday.
Analysis: Elias allowed two runs and seven hits with seven strikeouts and one walk over 5 2-3 innings. It was his longest outing since June 28 against Cleveland.
July 28 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Elias did not get a decision Sunday.
Analysis: Elias allowed one run in five innings and faces the O's again next weekend.
June 23 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Elias had another strong outing in Sunday's 2-1 win at Kansas City, limiting the Royals to a run and five hits over 6 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Elias is 4-1 in his last five starts with a 3.21 ERA.
June 2 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Elias threw a three-hit shutout Sunday against Detroit.
Analysis: It was the rookie's first career complete game as well as his first game without surrendering a run.
May 2 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE2:53 PM CT-Elias turned heads with a dominant performance in Thursday's 4-2 win at Yankee Stadium.
Analysis: Elias allowed two runs - one earned - and struck out 10 over seven innings. Elias, who has yielded one or two runs in four of his six starts, carries a very solid 3.09 ERA into his next outing.
Apr. 10 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Elias lost to the Angels on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Elias was done after five innings, another solid start for the youngster who never pitched above Double-A last season. He will get the ball again next week against Texas.
Apr. 4 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Elias failed to become the first Cuban-born pitcher to win a game for Seattle on Thursday.
Analysis: Elias, an all-star in the minors a year ago, allowed one runs and two hits in five effective innings but left with a no-decision. The 25-year-old lefty allowed only two runners past first base and struck out three and walked three.
Mar. 28 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Elias has earned a spot in the Seattle Mariners' starting rotation.
Analysis: The 25-year-old left-hander has never pitched above Double-A after a fine spring in which he had a 2.04 ERA in five games - two starts. He walked eight and struck out eight. Elias and recently signed right-hander Chris Young will take the spots of injured starters Hisashi Iwakuma and Taijuan Walker, who are expected to begin the season on the disabled list. Seattle opens Monday in Anaheim, Calif., against the Angels.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Sea 10 12 0 - 0 29 29 1 163.2 151 77 70 16 64 3 143 1.31 3.85
Career 10 12 0 - 0 29 29 1 163.2 151 77 70 16 64 3 143 1.31 3.85

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Sea 29 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 29 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1391 95 88 90.4 52.45
Curveball 616 83 74 77.5 23.23
Changeup 645 90 80 84.8 24.32

w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.